Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2007, 04:48 PM   #1
tcdiver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default how does Vent work?

I downloaded and installed both the client and server on my Intel iMac, and was able to get a fellow Mac user to connect.

But neither of us were able to make the voice bit work. Will it work with the built-in mic on iMacs at all? We were getting no sound whatsoever, even after setting up PTT and a PTT hotkey. The icon next to my name would turn green and it said xmit, and my friend saw my icon turn green, but he couldn't hear me speak.

Sorry if that's a remarkably stupid question, but I've never used anything like Ventrillo before...
tcdiver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:44 PM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

A built-in mic should work fine.

You need to be sure the input gain is set appropriately in both the Sound Input preference pane, and the Ventrilo setup pane.

Use the test and monitor functions to see if Ventrilo is "seeing" input from your mic (monitor will display the voice signal as a series of numbers. If the numbers are very low, then it's not getting enough input).
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:42 PM   #3
tcdiver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the reply, all good tips. I did make sure the mic worked in Ventrilo and through the Mac system prefs.

Trouble was I wasn't creating a channel to talk in - that's something that doesn't seem to be documented 'round here. In order to actually voice chat, a channel must be created. And in order to create a channel, a server password must be set in the ini file.

I figured it was something that basic. Found it at a rental site's tutorial.

T
tcdiver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 05:27 AM   #4
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

only reason you would need a channel is if silent lobby was set in the server ini file.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.