Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2007, 08:27 AM   #1
lindrone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Ventrilo for Mac client "hisses"

I really can't recall this happening before, but I started noticing this just yesterday. Regardless of what microphone I used with Ventrilo, it will always have a background hiss. I have tried 3 separate & different Microphones, a desktop USB Logitech Microphone, the new Logitech Notebook Premium Headset, and the Griffin iMic with a generic headset attached.

I've tested all the microphones in GarageBand, and they record just fine. With Ventrilo there is always a "hiss". What is causing this hiss? Is this a codec issue?
lindrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 01:01 PM   #2
lindrone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Doesn't seem to be an answer on this one... every once in a while, it goes away on its own... but then the issue just crops up for no reason. I don't remember having this problem before either, only recently.

This "buzz" or "hiss" doesn't just happen when I'm connected to a server either, it happens in self test mode as well.

Furthermore, in all cases using another audio recording app, such as GarageBand, produces no audible background noise of any sort.
lindrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 02:48 PM   #3
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

do you have a mic boost on or the amplifier turned up?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 12:58 PM   #4
lindrone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

There are no mic boost or amplifier options available. It's simply a volume slider. What's really peculiar, is that this doesn't happen *all* the time. Sometimes Ventrilo works fine, sometimes every single one of my mic, whether it's USB, direct line in.. all hisses.
lindrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 01:32 PM   #5
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Doesn't sound like a Ventrilo problem. Could be something in your environment causing interference.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:18 AM   #6
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post
Doesn't sound like a Ventrilo problem. Could be something in your environment causing interference.
it sure does. does a reboot help the situation?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:19 AM   #7
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Whoops - my bad. I read it as "it happens on all my mic's in any application." Clearly that's not what was intended.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 01:15 PM   #8
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

I'm curious who is hearing the hiss. Is it the other people connected to the server and when you are transmitting, or is it your self that hears the hiss?
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.