Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2006, 01:49 AM   #1
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Mic works but I can't talk!

My initial problem was that I was hearing the "echo" sound that the poster in the sticky was talking about. Using the steps in there, I was able to fix that problem. However, now that that problem is fixed, I can't seem to be able to talk at all. I know for a fact my mic is working and I can hear other people without the play back occuring. I can not for the life of me figure out how to configure ventrilo or my sound manager to where I can talk though.

I used ventrilo quite frequently on my old computer, as soon as I downloaded it to my new one, this problem arose. Maybe my drivers need updating? If so, can someone please explain how to do that.

This is what my ventrillo set up looks like: http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d8...untitled-1.jpg


And this is how my sound manager is set up:
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d82/MrScottal/1.jpg

Any one know how to fix this problem? I will be checking in on this thread quite a lot so if you need any additional information, expect it fast.

Thanks in advance,
Scott.
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 06:55 PM   #2
mjgraf
Super Moderator
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,492
Default

set the mixer to Line/Min
set the mux and line

in your sound control panel
mute the Line and select the mic
also under the Record section in your control planel, why does the speaker have a RED X over it!!
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 02:17 AM   #3
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

<3

Thanks
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 03:46 PM   #4
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

It's still not working. Here are updated screen shots...
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d82/MrScottal/2.jpg
and
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d82/MrScottal/3.jpg
and
http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d8...untitled-1.jpg


Last edited by MrScottal; 10-25-2006 at 03:48 PM.
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 06:34 PM   #5
mjgraf
Super Moderator
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,492
Default

mute all but the Mic in Recording Input
you will increase your line volume in ventrilo. set the amplifiers to zero.

in your Realtek control panel, mute the mic volume in Playback.
what does the mic tab show?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 07:21 PM   #6
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d82/MrScottal/4.jpg
i made the suggested changes and the mic still doesn't work. I have updated screen shots if needed.
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 03:46 PM   #7
mjgraf
Super Moderator
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,492
Default

can you test your mic in
Control Panel > Sound > Voice
Test Hardware button
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 02:25 PM   #8
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Already did because I thought it might be my mic, but the Mic works perfectly fine.
Any other suggestions?
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 03:31 PM   #9
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,733
Default

Control Panel > Sound > Voice tab

is Line-in/Mic the only option in the drop-down box in the recording section?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 03:48 AM   #10
MrScottal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Yes
MrScottal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.