Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2006, 08:06 PM   #1
only1gameguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default Complactoins

im trying to reacha windows friendly sever on my mac AND pc, no matter what i do i get a "Cannot connect to server." message. is there anyway i can bipass or resolve this
only1gameguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 10:29 PM   #2
Ur-Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 327
Default

Verify the server info (IP & port) is correct and verify the server is indeed running by entering the details here.
Ur-Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 12:06 AM   #3
only1gameguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default

doesnt work there, but according to the user group im trying ot connect to its up, and that is the info they put on. this happened on both windows and mac
only1gameguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 12:36 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

is this a personal server or a pro server at a hosting site?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 12:57 AM   #5
only1gameguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default

admin says "she's paying for it, i think its personal"
only1gameguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 01:10 AM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

sounds like the admin is renting a server from a pro-hosting site. If you can't get any response using the 'status' link above then there might be a typo in the server name they gave you or the wrong port number. you should be able to at least ping the server by name.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 01:23 AM   #7
only1gameguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default

she is running it from her house, and we've checked and checked and still no go
only1gameguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 01:40 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

ok, it is a personal server. She needs to configure her network router for portfowarding. Check this link for some detailed instructions from wadesworld on how to set it up for external access:

http://ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13924
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 01:49 AM   #9
only1gameguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default

the rest of the users in this group are on it, im not, im wondering if there is any special i need to do to my home network to access her server
only1gameguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 02:06 AM   #10
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

try temporarily disabling your firewall software and see if you can connect. what concerns me is that the status program can't connect to it either. does she leave it turned on all the time?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.