Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2006, 02:32 PM   #1
mistat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default IS there an answer to that age old question?

Hey everyone,
So here is my issue and i have notice a few others are having the same problem. I can see that people are talking to me but i cant hear them or reply.

I have a USB headset, i have 2.3.2 Protype 14. here is what i have set up:

I have enable access for assistive devices - selected
Mute microphone / bindings - selected
Enable outgoing voice communication -on
PTT - on
Both Output anf Input are set to my USB Headset.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
mistat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 04:36 PM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Are you connecting to a Speex-configured server?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 07:34 PM   #3
mistat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i am using GM 6.10
mistat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:12 PM   #4
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Did you happen to notice the big error message that popped up and said: "This server is configured for GSM. The Mac version of Ventrilo only works with Speex-configured servers. Inbound and Outbound voice communication will not function?"

Reconfigure your server to use the Speex codec.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:13 PM   #5
whoiga
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 124
Default

That's the problem. But, "you" yourself are not using GSM 6.10, the server must be using GSM 6.10.

As everyone sadly knows, there's no GSM support for Macs (or however you want to word it). Mac users may only communicate with codecs such as Speex.

Talk to the server owner about changing the codec to the highest quality Speex codec, the one that most closely matches the quality of the highest GSM 6.10 (if his host will allow such a change). If the windows users complain about quality, tell them to come download & install the beta windows client at the bottom of the download page.

If they don't believe you, send them here so we can re-iterate it into their thick skulls, ;P
whoiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 11:37 AM   #6
mistat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default nub here

Okay when I said I was using GM 6.10 I wasnt paying much attention. The GM 6.10 was the test setting at the time and thats what i was looking at and thought it was the server settings by accident. The server is set to Speedx, I dont know what i was thinking when i looked in the set up. So I have the correct code but no results, and I dont get any error message when i log in. Any thoughts on where i can go from here?
mistat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 12:03 PM   #7
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Does your headset work in other applications? That is to say, if you route your system sound output to the headset, can you hear your system sounds through the speakers?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 12:39 PM   #8
mistat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default

My head set works fine, I can get sound through it and when I go into the sound preferences I am able to talk into the MIC and get a signal. Also when I test using Vent I am able to talk and hear myself. When I am in Vent I cant hear or respond to anyone. The headset is recognized as unknown USB device yet it still works with my computer.
mistat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 12:46 PM   #9
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Well, as for not being able to respond to anyone, you said you have mute microphone/binds selected. That would cause that.

As for not being able to hear anyone - when you're connected to the vent server, what does it report in the setup screen for codec? And are you running 2.3.2 prototype 14 of Ventrilo?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 01:17 PM   #10
mistat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I am using 2.3.2 Ventrilo Prototype 14. While i was troubble shooting this I came across somthing interesting, If i use just a pair of head phones i could hear everyone but of course could not speak to them. I get the head set and now i dont get anything. This made me think it was indeed my headset until the test function worked and i knew the headset was working. Im starting to think it wont work for me, on the plus side Team Speak works just fine for Mac's
mistat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.