Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2007, 07:37 PM   #11
Trestle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Why would my Mic boost affect the sound that is incoming from another client? I do have the incoming pretty high its the only way I can hear and my sound drivers are upto date. I am gonna try to backoff the inbound a little and see if this helps thanks for the reply.
Trestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:03 PM   #12
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

I mean those issues may apply to the users who sound bad to you.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:54 PM   #13
Enspire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

I hate to ask a really dumb question but:

In attempting to change the codec on a server, the admin says that while he is the admin and he pays for it, he does not actually "host" it. I was under the impression the person paying for the server had the power to change it's codec. Am I wrong?

Thanks.
Enspire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:31 PM   #14
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

The person who pays for the server should certainly have the ability to change it.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:44 AM   #15
Trestle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Wade thanks man. I backed the inbound and think its fixed. Thanks for the help.
Trestle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:14 PM   #16
Magachan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

You dident answer if mac is going to suppourt gsm in near future, because that would save everyone for alot of extra work.
Magachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:54 PM   #17
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
You dident answer if mac is going to suppourt gsm in near future, because that would save everyone for alot of extra work.
Unless Apple implements GSM, the answer is no, it will not.

Extra work? Reconfigure the server for Speex and reboot.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:26 PM   #18
Magachan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post

Extra work? Reconfigure the server for Speex and reboot.
If you have server rights, try convincing a narrowminded dude who loves windows to the edge of his toes to change codec because of one person who use a mac:P
Magachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 08:19 PM   #19
drumgirl67
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I thought mac users were going to be able to connect to a gsm codec server with 3.0? That was my entire point in upgrading
drumgirl67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:15 AM   #20
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Some people (including me) wrongly assumed that, but that is not how it worked out. GSM will not be added unless Apple does it.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.