Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2006, 02:37 PM   #1
IainCole
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default Passworded Servers

Is there a known issue with connecting to password protected servers? If so I can't find any reference to it.

Anyway heres my problem.

I create a new user then add a server. I know I have admin rights on the server when connecting with a certain password however when I try to connect I get "Wrong User/Password" Then when I go to check the connection settings on the client the password in the box appears to only have 8 characters (shorter than the password I entered)

The encrypted password is stored in ventrilo2.ini under the key EncPass but I have no idea if this is correct as I don't know what algorithm is used to encrypt the passwords.

Anyway thats the problem I'm having and I don't know if anyone else is having that problem, could be just me but any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Iain
IainCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

you will need to enter the server password to connect, not the admin password.
ensure you are using the correct password that is setup for in the USR list, if that is how your server is authenticating.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 04:48 PM   #3
IainCole
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

If a user is registered to the server with admin rights they sign in with that password and immediately get admin. At least thats how it works on the PC version.
IainCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 08:35 PM   #4
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

that is correct, and you must use the password that is entered into the USR list.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:03 AM   #5
IainCole
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yes and my problem is, that isn't working. Which is a bit strange.
IainCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:19 AM   #6
IainCole
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

OK fixed it now.. I knew connecting to the CORRECT SERVER might have something do do with it..... honest....
IainCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 11:25 AM   #7
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IainCole
OK fixed it now.. I knew connecting to the CORRECT SERVER might have something do do with it..... honest....
That was going to be my guess but you beat me to it.

__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.