Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2014, 06:39 PM   #1
Avidity
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default Microphone fades out / lowers on its own

Hello, I have the Asus Maximus VII Hero and I'm currently experiencing an issue where if I talk in Ventrilo my microphone volume lowers until it fades out and then fades back in. Is this a drivers issue?

I have downloaded the latest drivers and do not know how to fix this. I also tested another headset and the problem persists.

I haven't noticed it happening in any other program that I'm aware of but will be sure to test it out.

Any help is appreciated,
Avidity
Avidity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 06:54 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,385
Default

are there any error messages about the mic in the vent log file? rt-clik in window > view > log file > scroll to bottom

in vent setup, is the input device set to the name of the mic device?

can you post a pic of the windows taskmanager/processes tab

also try disabling all unused audio devices:

Windows Control-Panel > Sound > Playback & Recording tabs > rt-click in the window and select "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" > rt-click on all unused devices and select "disable"
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 09:19 PM   #3
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

sometimes a device may have an auto gain adjustment. not sure if the headset you are using may have this or if the sound card on this motherboard has this capability.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 11:31 PM   #4
Avidity
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Error messages:
Code:
2014-09-29 06:16:06 Unable to open system registry key to read data.
2014-09-29 06:16:45 CEvtText::Read, Unable to open file C:\Users\Johnathan\AppData\Roaming\Ventrilo\default.vet
2014-09-29 06:16:45 Creating the default VET file 'C:\Users\Johnathan\AppData\Roaming\Ventrilo\default.vet'
2014-11-25 17:57:58 Microphone input level has been altered externally.
2014-11-25 18:00:31 Microphone input level has been altered externally.
2014-11-25 18:01:15 PlayDsOut: dsOut->Open failed. rc=-1
2014-11-25 18:01:18 PlayDsOut: dsOut->Open failed. rc=-1
Album of windows processes:
http://imgur.com/a/NA5vj

Disabled devices problem persists:
http://i.imgur.com/P4nx6vp.png

I didn't see the replies to this topic. I was suggested by Asus to reinstall a clean OS and I did that and the problem went away. Just recently it came back though. All I did was install skype and notepad++ as well as a game and the problem came back. Skype was working fine as far as I know.

Last edited by Avidity; 11-25-2014 at 11:37 PM.
Avidity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 12:27 PM   #5
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,047
Default

If the problem started after installing Skype I suspect that is the problem. This is the key to your problem.

"Microphone input level has been altered externally."

Make sure Skype is not running when you do your next test.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 01:19 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,385
Default

thx for the pics.

Quote:
Microphone input level has been altered externally
this is an indication that another program is taking control of the mic and vent has no control over it.

check your games for any voice-comms and disable the mic.

also check for this as it may still be a problem:
http://forum.ventrilo.com/showpost.p...26&postcount=3

you should also make sure the motherboard is up to date for BIOS, chipset and drivers. check the website for your make/model

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-26-2014 at 01:21 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 05:21 PM   #7
Avidity
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

I believe it was working fine with Skype. Skype was not running during the test.

I just did a clean OS install since I purchased a SSD and the problem is gone again... for now. But my motherboard is being RMA'd so hopefully that is the problem and I'm not wasting my time rebuilding my PC.

I think the microphone is being altered by Republic of Gamers SupremeFX Realtek HD Audio Manager. It has volume stabilizer, noise gate, and noise reduction options. I even disabled them and did a test and the problem persisted.

Last edited by Avidity; 11-26-2014 at 05:24 PM.
Avidity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 04:24 AM   #8
EvanSimpson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Default Maybe it's driver's issue

I think it might be the driver's issue. Did you check RealTek system settings?

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-28-2014 at 09:23 AM.
EvanSimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.