Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2009, 12:13 PM   #1
Dumble1234
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Vent help/headset, mic.

Hello, I know you may have a lot of questions on this, but I just need help

I have a USB headset, and what i want to do is this

-Play music through my internal computer speakers
-Play vent through my headset speakers.

I'm trying everything with the input-output stuff in setup, but it's just not working for some reason.

I had it working like this before, but apparently it got reset?
What it looks like right now is

This is what is in the list of both
--Sound Output--
Default
Built-in Output
Built-in Line Output
Built-in Digital Output
--Sound Input--
Default
Built-in Line Input
Built-in Digital input


Any help?
Dumble1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:59 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

is the USB headset listed in the Sound devices in System Preferences
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 02:39 PM   #3
Dumble1234
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah it is. Output is Built-in Line output,
Input is Logitech USB headset
Dumble1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 02:18 PM   #4
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

did you select the logitech as the input and output device in ventrilo setup?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 05:22 PM   #5
araquen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I have the same issue. Cyber Acoustics headset running through iMic though. (FYI: iMic converts analog to USB).

Vent will not take ownership of piping it's own sound. I can only hear through Vent if my Mac's sound is set to play through the iMic. This means *all* my Mac sounds are playing through the iMic.

I have Vent set to iMic all the time. This setting does not change (ie: I am not seeing Vent change the choice to "default" or "line in" but Vent simply will not play through my headset anymore unless the Mac is also set to do it.

This is a recent development. I have had no problems up until a week or so ago.

Edit: We replicated the issue using my husband's Fast Track input device. Vent is clearly not working.

Last edited by araquen; 09-05-2009 at 05:25 PM.
araquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 06:07 PM   #6
daeus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Default

I've actually seen this for a long time now. I have my headset plugged into an iMic and unless I set my output source to iMic, vent will refuse to pipe it's audio through the iMic. All sounds will be through my desktop speakers until I set the output to iMic, but that means even iTunes and everything else will go through the iMic as well.

This most certainly was not always the case. Something has definitely changed.
daeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.