Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2010, 09:01 PM   #1
Shinchook
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default does 3.0.7 Fix the robot voice?

Hello,

I run on a Mac Pro quad core 2.8. I have the GTX 285 with 10 gb of ram. I am also running Snow Leopard.

I have been running 3.0.5 for some time now and just noticed that the updated to 3.0.7 was released not too long ago.

The problem I am having is infamous "robot voice" after about 20-30 min of raiding. The question is whether anyone knows that this issue was fixed in the new update.

A good description of the problem (just so you know this isn't just happening to me) can be found here... http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37302

There is also another person in my guild that uses mac and has the same problem as me and he is on a macbook pro.

thanks
Shinchook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 12:23 PM   #2
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

You are not alone on with this issue - it affects lots of people, and is #7 in the Ventrilo Mac Troubleshooting thread. There is a link to a post on Apple's site there as well.

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

There are several open and addressed bug reports on file with Apple regarding this issue. Hopefully it will be given some love in the near future.

The original bug id I reported was 7239868 and that was at the beginning of 2009.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 08:12 PM   #3
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

3.0.7 Update: Sad news after raiding for 20 minutes and talking on Vent:

Robo-voice persists :-(

However, the changes are nice and compatibility with keyboards is a great addition.

Slow memory leak fixed too.

Thanks for the updates - keep em coming!

Last edited by Jaycyn; 06-28-2010 at 08:14 PM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 09:19 PM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

Please clarify:

A) You are hearing Static / Robotic sound from other users.

B) You are transmitting static / robotic sound TO other user.

--Flag
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:43 AM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,442
Default

also, what audio hardware are you using for vent?

onboard sound.. usb headset.. iGriffen adapter.. etc ???

and what settings for the output/input devices?

is in-game voice enabled or disabled? (if available)

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 06-29-2010 at 10:03 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 04:38 PM   #6
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

This is the same issue that has existed with for approx 1.5 years.

Simply put, after using Ventrilo for 20-30 minutes with intermittent talking, the outgoing voice would become garbled, sounding almost robotic. i.e. I am leading a raid and speaking every few minutes. After approx 30 minutes I get whispers from everyone else that I have 'robo-voice'. The issue is unrelated to WoW as it has occurred on brand new Macs, fresh out of the box that have never had any other software installed.

If I continue to use it, it gets to the point where no one can understand anything I am saying. In general, disconnecting from the server and reconnecting fixes the issue for another period of time.

The link I posted above links to specifics about the issue, including a detailed description, examples, and links to a number of other folks with the same issue. If you google 'ventrilo robo voice' there are a number of hits that provide more information.

There was a 'fix' where you could replace the AppleUSBAudio.kext from 10.5.7 up with the one from 10.5.6 and it would 'fix' the issue. However it caused all kinds of other issues so it was not a good solution.

The issue is duplicatable with a variety of different Macs, OS's and headset combinations. I've been able to reproduce the issue on every Mac produced in the last 2 years, at least 10 different headsets and all OS's from 10.5.7 to 10.6.4). The issue did not exist with 10.5.6.

Here's a thread with more info too: http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37302

Last edited by Jaycyn; 06-29-2010 at 04:47 PM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 06:55 PM   #7
Shinchook
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, Im using a logitech usb headset. Nothing fancy. I get the "robo-voice" exactly as explained above.
Shinchook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 09:37 PM   #8
sheebyshoes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I used to get the robo-voice all the time when I had a Logitech headset, plugged in to the iMic. I bought a USB headset and I haven't had the problem since. Not sure how it affected it but it might be something to do with Logitech or iMic or something?
sheebyshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 12:46 PM   #9
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Would you mind sharing some of the details about your system?

What operating system version are you using?

Which Macintosh computer is it?

Which USB Headset do you now use?

Thanks!
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.