Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
ThomasTJP
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Na

anon

Last edited by ThomasTJP; 06-12-2020 at 12:00 AM.
ThomasTJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

sounds like the problem is on the upload side.

what's your bandwidth when the lagging starts? www.speedtest.net
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 08:26 PM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

just for testing, can you plug the mac into the router's DMZ port, or better yet, directly into the modem (if the modem is separate). reboot both devices to make sure they sync up.

who's your ISP?
we've seen other users have problems on the upload side because their ISP is using packet-shaping and tagging vent packets for low-priority, which causes lag.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 12:21 AM   #4
smtips
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Routers and stuff

Your connection is great, your ping time is great on speedtest.net. Your router sux. It's extremely hard to get any settings to actually STAY on D-Link routers. I have one and I DMZ it whenever I have a port issue, I've tried everything and it just refuses to keep settings, screws them up whenever I restart, hook another computer up, whatever...and this is pretty well documented online about D-link routers.

But for that issue...I suggest you google how to do the port forwarding it may work fine. If not...DMZ the router in the settings...unless you're really scared your mac will download and install executable files completely on its own (ala WINDOZE). That will open it completely up...better still do what was already suggested and elimitate the router from the mix.

Reinstall Ventrilo...completely....use AppZapper and remove it totally.

The only other issue would be that your Mac's network connection is bad...biut very unlikely because of the good tests anywhere but vent.

Try another chat program...ichat, whatever...see if you're getting the same thing in those.

Try another mic...maybe yours has a short in it causing huge lag.

Of course your problem would start when you try to talk and not another time. There's no data traveling until you talk

Otherwise...if the technical support from ventrilo won't help you, ask for your money back.

Last edited by smtips; 06-24-2009 at 12:23 AM.
smtips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.