Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2009, 09:38 PM   #1
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default ventrilo kills other sound program

I am running Vista 32bit. It was working fine and now all of a sudden I am not able to have ventrilo connected to a server and hear sound from another program at the same time. I usually use ventrilo with urbanterror and that is how I noticed the problem. But I have tested with mult other programs and online sites with sound and they will not work while connected to a server. The second I disconnect or close ventrilo the sound comes back. I can still use urbanterror with other programs with sound and here both just fine at the same time.
example is
urbanterror & pandora.com

my sound cards are nvidia HDMI audio / realtek high definition audio with a bluetooth hands free audio device.


UAC is turned off already and default audio set and mic levels set.

Thanks in advance.
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:09 PM   #2
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

any ideas at all?
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:36 PM   #3
InoSiX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

i have the EXACT same issue, i also posted just the other day. Only i'm using Vista x64.
InoSiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
InoSiX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Also, i regain sound when i enter "Setup", at least for ventrilo
InoSiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:44 PM   #5
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

exactly the same as this guy
http://ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35805
http://ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35804
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 05:50 PM   #6
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

anyone have a fix for this yet?
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:59 PM   #7
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

The problem went away on its own for like a day, now its back. Please help!!!
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:27 PM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,446
Default

are you piping all audio to the bluetooth?
and are you using the BT for talking with vent?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 04:41 PM   #9
98ksxj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

This happens with my onboard output, my usb speakers, or my bluetooth. But yes I am piping all my sounds to one device at a time. I did try to separate it by changing the default sound device before or after opening a program and still did not fix the problem.

I am a computer tech by trade and think I am fairly knowledgeable on these things, but this one really has me stumped...
98ksxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:41 PM   #10
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,446
Default

in vent setup/voice-binds-speech tabs, is the output device name set correctly?

is any of your audio devices setup for 5/7.1

did you try running vent in admin mode?

when the problem went away, were you logging into windows as a different acct name?

in the sounds/playback/speaker properties/advanced tab, try different settings of 'exclusive mode'
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.