Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2018, 06:50 PM   #1
kidleaderkty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Default Failed to open sound input device

Running windows 10. Had no issues prior to the most recent update, and since then I have not be able to get my vent to pick up my microphone at all.

I've tried things outlined in previous threads (i.e. checking mic through windows, making sure device is enabled, vent input device set as directsound, etc.)

Failed to open sound input device. rc=-10, CreateCaptureBuffer failed. HR=E_FAIL. An undetermined error occurred

dxdiag is below and in following posts:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/27/2018, 19:19:43
Machine name: DESKTOP-MSAM4RF
Machine Id: {F213C23B-0339-4F78-AA6F-486F88642065}
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 17134) (17134.rs4_release.180410-1804)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: MSI
System Model: MS-7978
BIOS: Default System BIOS (type: BIOS)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.6GHz
Memory: 32768MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 32716MB RAM
Page File: 7307MB used, 30527MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DxDiag Version: 10.00.17134.0001 64bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Display Tab 2: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)
kidleaderkty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 12:12 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

try this first:

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showpost.php?p=141762

if that doesn't work then can you post these sections from the dxdiag plz:

sound devices

sound capture devices

direct input devices

usb devices

ps/2 devices
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 09:32 PM   #3
greenstone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Default Fix found.

"Failed to open sound input device. rc=-10, CreateCaptureBuffer failed. HR=E_FAIL. An undetermined error occurred"

I just received this error on my vent after I was checking services in Windows 10.

Service that caused the error:
Capability Access Manager
Service Provides facilities for managing UWP apps access to app capabilities as well as checking an app's access to specific app capabilities.
(Make sure the above service is automatic if you have it.)

Found out that by switching it off it turns off the "privacy settings" for the microphone and various other items in the newest Windows 10 patch.

Look under "setting">"privacy">"microphone", make sure "Allow apps to access your microphone" is turned on to fix most microphone issues with the newest windows 10 patch.
greenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 08:17 AM   #4
LeeroyBro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Default

I was having the same issue. This fixed my problem. Thank you so much!
LeeroyBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 09:02 PM   #5
itsalex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 11
Default

This is a relevant thread, maybe this could help.

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=61906
itsalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 04:24 AM   #6
alice2911
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Once I reinstalled win, I had this problem. finally fix it
alice2911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 01:05 AM   #7
johnyjackson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alice2911 View Post
Once I reinstalled win, I had this problem. finally fix it
Thanks, After re-installation It's Works Great
johnyjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:53 PM   #8
baobiyenphat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Viet Nam
Posts: 1
Default

This fixed my problem. Thank you so much
baobiyenphat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.