Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2010, 07:59 PM   #1
omnomnom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default (not responding) windows 7

im trying to set up vent. ive already checked the use direct sound box under input and output. ive also set them to speakers (realtek high def audio) and microphone (realtek high def audio). whenever i hit my PTT button and speak, it locks up. Suggestions?
omnomnom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 08:43 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,405
Default

in vent setup/binds-speech tabs, set the output device to the same as the voice tab

try setting both Vent and any online game to ‘Run As Administrator’ (rt-click their icons)

try turning off ‘User Account Control’ located in Windows Control-Panel/User Accounts

Audio Driver

Check the Audio driver to make sure it is up to date. Or try re-installing the current driver.
(note: some USB Headsets do not require a driver)
(Don’t assume the driver is up to date as a newer one may have been released since the computer was built)

- If you have a brand-name PC, like Dell or HP, then check the manufacturers website for driver updates.
- If you built the PC and use the on-board sound device then check the motherboard manufacturers website for drivers for your model motherboard.
- If you use a plug-in soundcard, like SoundBlaster, then check that manufacturers website for drivers.

Also check for BIOS and chipset updates
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:22 PM   #3
omnomnom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

ok, got that problem fixed, sort of. program still locks up, but not as frequently. I also unchecked play key clicks. is there a way to get live help? my mic sounds screwy, some PTT buttons wont work, and i cant get the voice activation to work. Most confusing voice chat program FTW
omnomnom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:36 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,405
Default

for windows 7:

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=43879

for voice activation, set the sensitivity = 5. if the mic picks up too much backround noise then increase that number
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.