Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Old 06-24-2007, 02:59 PM   #1
Orbacca

Default Another "I can't speak on Vent" cry for help

I'm a WoW player and can't communicate with everyone else in my new guild. Problem... I can hear them but they can't hear me. My lights don't go green when I speak into my mic. I have used Ventrilo successfully on several other occasions - just not with this guild. I don't know if it's my hardware or not, though what I have just written suggests that the problems is in my software setup. I have fairly non-standard sound equipment though, so I thought I'd run both hardware and software by you and see if you have any idea how I might solve this.

As for hardware, I run a G5 Mac with OS 10.4.9. My sound I/O device is an M-Audio Firewire 410, an external Digital /Analog converter. I plug a standard dynamic vocal mic directly into the box. I'm a full-time professional musician and occasional audio engineer and, therefore, know that this setup (though a bit more cumbersome than a headset) is perfectly capable of getting sound into my computer.

As for software, under "Test With" I am set on the Speex Codec and Format 16kHz, 16 bit, 7 Qlty.

"Enable outgoing voice communication" is checked. "Use Push-To_Talk Hotkey" and "Play key clicks" are unchecked. Hotkey reads UNK:T0,C0 - Silence time 3.0 Seconds - Sensitivity 60.

Sound Outputs and Inputs are set to Firewire 410 Multichannel with Line Input close to Max. Outbound and Inbound Amplifiers are set near the middle of the spectrum.

I know my server uses the Speex Codec, so might it be the Format that is set wrong?