Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2006, 09:29 PM   #1
napstyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Talking on Vent

Does anyone know how to talk on Vent because it doesn't even make the icon green when i press the thing and does it have to do with Speex and that stuff need help???
napstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 12:44 AM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

What thing are you pressing? What have you done thusfar?

Give some sort of helpful description.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 04:46 PM   #3
Impulse
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

go into setup once your connected to vent and click Use Push-To-Talk Hotkey.. then you will see a space that says hotkey(click on the empty space). Then just click the button you want to use to talk.. it should then apper in that box.. then just go down to bottom and just push Ok and that should do it.
Impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 09:21 PM   #4
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

normally when the speaker does not change, mute mic is selected in ventrilo.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 02:42 PM   #5
Cayaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Default Hotkey UNK:T0,C0

What button is the default hotkey UNK:T0,C0 and how do you access it?
Cayaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 07:04 PM   #6
doroteasenjk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayaa
What button is the default hotkey UNK:T0,C0 and how do you access it?
I think it is very difficult to access that. UNK means unknown; the other two parts are signal pair used to encode old-style PC keyboards.
doroteasenjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 07:06 PM   #7
doroteasenjk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgraf
normally when the speaker does not change, mute mic is selected in ventrilo.
There may be an issue that Mute Mic is selected but does not appear to be selected in the user interface. Not sure though, as I haven't heard another suggestion why I can't talk either.
doroteasenjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 07:09 PM   #8
doroteasenjk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by napstyle
Does anyone know how to talk on Vent because it doesn't even make the icon green when i press the thing and does it have to do with Speex and that stuff need help???
1) Speex is a codec ("coder-decoder") that converts air waves into bits and back again. Both your client and the server have to have Speex selected.

2) From the setup screen again, you need to select your sources. If it says Default, it is likely wrong. Select the actual inputs from the drop down list.

3) Try using the Monitor button and speaking into the mic. This will tell you if the mic is live - a stream of numbers (presumably volume samples) starts scrolling down. If it doesn't then Vent can't see your mic.

4) Make sure Mute Mic is not selected in the main window. There may be an issue where it is selected but does not display.

If any of this helps tell me, as I am still struggling.
doroteasenjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.