Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2006, 04:53 PM   #1
Sikarius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default Can't Install?

Greetings,

I am eager to try out the new release, however it won't let me, I keep getting an error message when I select my hard drive, that says there is already a more recent version of the package installed. I don't understand.
Any tips?

Thanks in advance =)
Sikarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 05:21 PM   #2
Sikarius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default nm

Well I got it installed, by deleting my previous version, however now I can't hear anything =(
Sikarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 09:33 PM   #3
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Are you connecting to a server configured with the Speex Codec?

Wade
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 09:49 PM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

Go into setup and try selection a specific sound output device.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 10:55 PM   #5
splitusa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default

How do u unistall?
splitusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 06:51 PM   #6
Amish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default

I am getting the same problem. I try to install prototype 7, it gives me the red "!", saying that there is a newer version available. I attempt to delete the old version, but I still get the same message. I can't install over it.
Amish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:29 PM   #7
Pdd08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default

It looks to me that the "Software Liscense Agreement" is for Version 2.3.0 and this may be causing the problems...I don't know how to fix it though.

I have tried dragging the program into my trash, but still won't get me past the red exclamation point...

Anyone care to give us the secret on how to install the newest version?


please...
Pdd08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:54 PM   #8
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

Delete the the file /Library/Receipts/VentriloClient.pkg if you have one.
Then try installing the client.

I think that is the only way that it knows about previous versions since the Mac doesn't have a formal Uninstall process like MS Windows does.

But even still, the installer should have given you an "Upgrade" option rather then an error. Could be your system has much larger issues.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 10:50 PM   #9
Jlaze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I got past the red ! HD issue after a couple of tries, I didn't do anything diff it jut installed. but the 7 version won't launch at all now. the 6 version worked fine with the exceptions of unsupported feaures. I'm stumped as to whay the 7 won't lauch at all.
Jlaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 11:02 PM   #10
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Anything in the console log?

Wade
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.