Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2005, 04:00 AM   #1
pherecydes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default Mic issue?

First of all THANKS a ton for the prototype.

Everything is functioning just fine except I can seem to transmit. Perhaps the mic that i bought is not self powering and that is the issue. Or perhaps it is related to the fact that the line in level bar in setup is "currently not supported" My mic isn't a usb mic so this could also be the problem.

Please let me know if any of these sound like a likely cause or if there is something i am not thinking of...also is there a way to test the mic outside of vent to see if it works?
pherecydes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 10:25 AM   #2
gramathy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Default

The audio input port on Macs is not a microphone port, it's a Line In for powered audio input. If you're going to use a microphone that you just buy off the shelf there is little chance it is self powered, so you'd need to get a USB audio interface like Giriffin's iMic or one of the other number of things that lets you use standard mics.
gramathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 06:33 AM   #3
Wembley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 13
Default

I have the above-mentioned iMic, and it works perfectly with my random Labtec mic.
Wembley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.