Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2006, 03:50 PM   #1
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default Virtual Memory - 2GB?

I'm using the shiny Prototype 14 relese of Ventrilo for Mac and am wondering about memory usage. Currently it's using around 600MB of Real Memory and almost 3GB of Virtual Memory. The kernal_task is only using 1.4GB of VM. Is this typical memory usage?
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 05:05 PM   #2
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

No. Something is seriously wrong.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

OK, it seems to be loading resources for the Cepstral Voice I use as my system's default every time someone enters or leaves a channel. I've turned off the text-to-speech option when people leave channels. I'll miss the functionality but will prefer not to have my VM increasing like that.

Last edited by PopeZaphod; 05-10-2006 at 06:51 PM.
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 11:43 PM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

My TTS does not have this effect during any of my testing scenarios but I don't use that voice. Try using a different one to see if it stops, short of turning TTS off entirely.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 06:55 PM   #5
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,048
Default

I just noticed that I don't even have a voice named "Cepstral" on either of my systems.

I suspect this might be a bug in the voice you are using and not ventrilo. Where did you get it from?
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 07:53 PM   #6
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Cepstral makes several additional voices for PCs and Macs - http://www.cepstral.com/

The problem was with the older version - 3.4.0 - of Cepstral Voices. I upgraded to the latest (4.0.3.1) and the problem went away.
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.