Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2020, 02:35 AM   #1
unclepierre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Default Windows 10 ver 20180:1000

My Vent suddenly started producing a digital type noise from my microphone, I changed to a different mike with the same results. I'm on the Windows insider program and so I tried Vent on my tablet which was ok and then updated to the same version as my pc. This immediately produced the digital noise from my microphone. My sound is fine in Teams, Zoom and sound recorder, its just Vent that messes up.
Unclepierre
unclepierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 08:56 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

we will try to duplicate this.

what is the name of the audio device?
are the mics using on-board audio or a usb conneciton?

also check to make sure the BIOS/chipset/audio drivers are up to date.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 08-07-2020 at 09:02 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 09:21 AM   #3
unclepierre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Default

I use a Sennheiser GSA 670 ( a bluetooth connected to its own usb dongle ) and a bog standard desktop mike also usb. Both give the same results. I don't have an analogue Mike to try. I have rolled both the pc and tablet ( Surface pro 3 ) back to version 10175:1000 and they both work fine.
Thanks

Unclepierre
unclepierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 01:10 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

Dev just tested with the 20185.1000 version and it was nasty. what we did find is all formats of the GSM codec have the problem. Opus sounds good.

what codec is the server and/or channel configured for?
what version of vent are you running?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:35 PM   #5
unclepierre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Default

I am using Lightspeed as a server which uses GSM 6.10 22kHz 16bit. My Vent is 3.0.8, the server doesn't support ver 4.
I'm just glad it wasn't me doing something wrong!
And Windows has just automatically updated back to 20185 when I'd asked it not to!
Thanks for your help
Uncle
unclepierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 11:13 AM   #6
unclepierre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Default

I have tried the speex codec, the only alternative to GSM on lightspeed and that works. Problem solved for me!

Uncle
unclepierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:23 AM   #7
asherxo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclepierre View Post
I have tried the speex codec, the only alternative to GSM on lightspeed and that works. Problem solved for me!

Uncle
Thanks for the update. I hope this solves my problem too.
asherxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 06:18 AM   #8
Metaphysis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Default

Looking for the best toilet https://bestflushingtoilets.org/best-toilet/? Check this review that talks about the best toilet brands in the market that you could ever have.

Last edited by Metaphysis; 09-16-2020 at 03:19 AM.
Metaphysis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.