Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2005, 10:31 AM   #1
sbreault
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Lost Without Hope

I am using a netgear router with new firmware that Netgear has assured me is set up correctly. I have a server within wireless network all computers in network can be in vent chat no problem... No one can come in from the outside.... Netgear says i need to set modem up in bridgemode and get a 64 public ip.....BELLSOUTH says that it is in bridgemode and that that ip is fine.....neither will help me any further setting up vent..

Set port forwarding for Ventrilo1 TCP/UDP port brg/end 3784 of internal ip which is static of 192.168.0.2

However using My ip from vent check 67.34.145.29 ... no one can get in.....
sbreault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 05:38 PM   #2
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

let me try to connect. ok

Hope I can help
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 05:54 PM   #3
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

Your ping is fine. Consider port forwarding. Every router is different > Try connecting without using a router and see if users can connect to the server that way

Here is the results of your Ping Test

C:\Documents and Settings\Brian Rettig>ping 67.34.145.29
Pinging 67.34.145.29 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 67.34.145.29: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.34.145.29: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.34.145.29: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.34.145.29: bytes=32 time=68ms TTL=51
Ping statistics for 67.34.145.29:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

Also a Tracert in xp test. You are definetly connected, but you'll need to forward the ports correctly.


here is the traceart.

C:\Documents and Settings\Brian Rettig>pathping -p 2 64.34.145.29
Tracing route to 64.34.145.29 over a maximum of 30 hops
0 brian-yrg3l3gf1.domain_not_set.invalid [70.236.46.209]
1 192.168.0.1
2 ppp-70-236-47-254.dsl.ipltin.ameritech.net [70.236.47.254]
3 dist1-vlan50.ipltin.ameritech.net [67.36.128.226]
4 bb1-g3-0-2.ipltin.ameritech.net [151.164.43.122]
5 bb1-p6-2.emhril.ameritech.net [151.164.41.235]
6 bb2-p13-1.emhril.ameritech.net [151.164.191.114]
7 151.164.42.141
8 ex1-p6-0.eqchil.sbcglobal.net [151.164.40.125]
9 asn13768-peer1.eqchil.sbcglobal.net [151.164.249.238]
10 OC48POS6-0.tor-core-1.peer1.net [216.187.114.142]
11 OC48POS1-0.tor-core-2.peer1.net [216.187.114.134]
12 OC48POS3-0.mtl-core-b.peer1.net [216.187.68.93]
13 216.187.115.78
14 216.187.115.70
15 * * *
Computing statistics for 3 seconds...
Source to Here This Node/Link
Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
0 brian-yrg3l3gf1.domain_not_set.inv
alid [70.236.46.209]
0/ 100 = 0% |
1 0ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.0.1
0/ 100 = 0% |
2 9ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ppp-70-236-47-254.dsl.ipltin.ameri
tech.net [70.236.47.254]
0/ 100 = 0% |
3 9ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% dist1-vlan50.ipltin.ameritech.net
[67.36.128.226]
0/ 100 = 0% |
4 9ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% bb1-g3-0-2.ipltin.ameritech.net [1
51.164.43.122]
0/ 100 = 0% |
5 14ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% bb1-p6-2.emhril.ameritech.net [151
.164.41.235]
0/ 100 = 0% |
6 14ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% bb2-p13-1.emhril.ameritech.net [15
1.164.191.114]
0/ 100 = 0% |
7 15ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 151.164.42.141
0/ 100 = 0% |
8 15ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ex1-p6-0.eqchil.sbcglobal.net [151
.164.40.125]
0/ 100 = 0% |
9 15ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% asn13768-peer1.eqchil.sbcglobal.ne
t [151.164.249.238]
0/ 100 = 0% |
10 --- 100/ 100 =100% 100/ 100 =100% OC48POS6-0.tor-core-1.peer1.net [2
16.187.114.142]
0/ 100 = 0% |
11 --- 100/ 100 =100% 100/ 100 =100% OC48POS1-0.tor-core-2.peer1.net [2
16.187.114.134]
0/ 100 = 0% |
12 34ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% OC48POS3-0.mtl-core-b.peer1.net [2
16.187.68.93]
100/ 100 =100% |
13 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% 216.187.115.78
0/ 100 = 0% |
14 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% 216.187.115.70
0/ 100 = 0% |
15 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% brian-yrg3l3gf1 [0.0.0.0]
Trace complete.
C:\Documents and Settings\Brian Rettig>

Minimum = 68ms, Maximum = 69ms, Average = 68ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Brian Rettig>
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 11:09 AM   #4
sbreault
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy NOt sure What to try from here

I have opened port 3784 within port forwarding of Netgear router and this with no luck....... assigning static ip from within network which Netgear told me would make accessible from outside of network.. I am able to assemble a computer but have no knowledge whatsoever dealing with networks.. I have no idea where to go or what to do at this point with your wonderful help because of a lack of knowledge in this area.

I have everything including internet access and file sharing configured properly. I could really use some live support.. As I work better that way. . If anyone is willing I would sicerely appreciate some help. I would gladly call someone long distance if they could help me with this issue.

Even though I am 35 years old, I got my 53 year old PARENTS interested in World of Warcraft and I am trying to set up a local chat room to expedite our game play... Please help me. I will have all morning THursday or Friday whichever is better for anyone who can help me. My email is sbreault@bellsouth.net and i will respond in kind at your convenience. Both Netgear and Bellsouth have stated that their product is working properly and can not help further.


Sincerely,

Shawn
sbreault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:43 PM   #5
OpenSourceLinux
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Hmmm netgear does it have dmz host? i think you need to foawrd the port and set up the router to use udp don't put your server to DMZ try to foward the port # and set it up to UDP but if not luck try it with DMZ host that will make your server work for sure
OpenSourceLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.