Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2019, 08:42 AM   #1
bogo67
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Default Installing 64bit Ventrilo on Mac after Catalina update

Hi,

I have just updated my Mac OS to Catalina however now my previously installed 32bit Ventrilo client which did work fine is no longer supported.

I have uninstalled the old client and downloaded the 64bit client version but unfortunately I can't install it. When I try to run the installer I get the following error.

“VentriloPro.pkg” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information. This item is on the disk image “ventrilopro-403-osx.dmg”.

Please help! I use Ventrilo every day for work and now I am stuck!

Many Thanks in advance!!!
bogo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 02:06 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

i have notified the Devs regarding this issue.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 05:08 PM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

update:

the devs were unable to duplicate this but research indicates that Apple is now making developers register their apps with apple:

(details from Apple)
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202491

https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-...er-mh40616/mac

different sources:

(long version with fix)
https://www.winytips.com/installer-c...ious-software/

(another short version fix)
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/250712705

note: looks like this affected many other developers too

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-14-2019 at 05:39 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 11:52 AM   #4
bogo67
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Prog-Rocker, this is strange how they can't replicate it. A colleague has also tried to do this on another Mac and gets the same difficulty.

Unfortunately this now feels like a dead end with a brick wall.. don't see much else I can try!
bogo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 12:59 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

the Devs were able to finally reproduce the error and the fix in my previous post did work.

are you running any other A/V or malware checkers? (are they up to date)
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 02:38 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

i can confirm that the security setting change does work.

Open system preferences
Open security & privacy
Click general

A message window was present concerning the app.
Click allow in the message window

also make sure that the following option is selected

"App store and identified developers"

Note: in order to make the change you might have to unlock the window by clicking on the padlock in the lower left corner.

Flagship Industries is a 'signed' identified developer.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 04:41 PM   #7
bogo67
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Talking

Thanks so much Prog-Rocker that has worked. Awesome!

Do you work for ventrilo or just an all round helpful bean!?

I'm very grateful thanks again!
bogo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.