Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2006, 11:09 AM   #1
soupnatizzle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default problem with vent server please help.

ok im trying to host a small server for me and my freinds, and i cannot connect to it at all. i think i know what the problem is but need assistance fixing it.

when i open up my ventrilo server it opens a DOS type window. and i see the following

http://img186.**********.us/img186/6843/sdasd6lu.png

forwarding the router is not a problem, i do it for alot of varius games, programs.. see how it says acsepting on those two invalid IPS one is from my router i know and the other i have no idea

here is the texted in my .INI file (im almost possitive this is where im messing up.)

[Server]

Name=kevin
Phonetic=kevin
Port=3784
Auth=0
Duplicates=1
AdminPassword=
Password=
MaxClients=8
SendBuffer=0
RecvBuffer=0
Diag=0
LogonTimeout=5
CloseStd=1
TimeStamp=0
PingRate=10
ExtraBuffer=0
ChanWidth=0
ChanDepth=0
ChanClients=0
DisableQuit=1
VoiceCodec=0
VoiceFormat=1
SilentLobby=0
AutoKick=0

[Intf=soupman.no-ip.info]

# Examples:
# Intf=
# Intf=
# Intf=
# Intf=
soupnatizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 11:11 AM   #2
soupnatizzle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

ive tryed not using that NO-IP address and just using my external IP adress with the same results
soupnatizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 12:07 PM   #3
Ur-Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 327
Default

The server seems correctly set-up. The second address you see (127.0.0.1) is the loopback IP address, is what your computer uses when talking to itself and therefore is what address you should enter when trying to connect to your server from the same machine. The external IP (of your modem) is what your friends should use to connect to. You should of course forward port 3784 on both UDP and TCP to your local IP of the server.
Ur-Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 05:43 AM   #4
Sletin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Since i see that ur accepcting connectioncs on the 192.168.1.100 interface, that means you are behind a firewall. make sure u are giving the clients the right IP and port, the port that has been forwarded, and having the right ip, not the router ip, will get them to connect. you can access your correct ip by typing that router IP (192.168.1.100) into the address bar of your internet brouser. that will bring up config pages. but as u say forwarding is not a problem, none of this should be new to you.
Sletin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.