Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 11:49 PM   #1
binkley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 1
Default unable to resolve hostname

I have a hostname, cadmium.typefrag.com, the client is unable to resolve. I am on Windows 8 using 64-bit 3.0.8 client.

From a command line I can ping this host, and Windows resolves the IP and succeeds with ping.

My wife's client does not have this issue (Windows 7, client 3.0.8).

If relevant, I am in Manila, Philippines.

Thanks,
--binkley
binkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 06:58 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

i show the ipaddress for that server as 66.151.100.35

does your ping resolve to the same address?

try entering the ipaddress instead of the hostname into the vent hostname.

try the telnet test:

start > run
cmd {hit enter}
telnet serverhostname port#

(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If Telnet is able to connect then the screen will go blank. If not, then you will see an error message about not being able to connect.

Enabling Telnet in Vista/Windows 7

Control-Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off / select “Telnet Client” / click OK

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#. if you've eliminated all possibilities with your internal network then try contacting your ISP and have them try to telnet to the server to see if they can connect from their end.

are you running any VPN apps?

Temporarily disable all firewall/virus/spyware/malware applications
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.