Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2008, 11:07 AM   #1
invicta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Unhappy an odd problem

about a week ago i joined a friends vent server, and again i was able to the very next day. i tried again last night and i get the unending "msg: contacting server" message. i am able to log into several other vent servers, but this one wont seem to let me. i dont run a router, reset the modem, ive tried disabling all firewalls and antivirus, none of it helped. ive even deleted the server contact info and re-entered it a few times. any ideas?
invicta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:04 PM   #2
Betta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Can you verify that the server is, in fact, up and running?

-Betta
Betta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:11 PM   #3
invicta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

yep, they even reset it for me earlier this morning in case that was an issue
invicta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:19 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,426
Default

perform a traceroute to the server and post the results:

start > run > cmd

tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

try the telnet test:

start > run > cmd
telnet serverhostname port#


(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 06:00 PM   #5
Mastique
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default Same issue

I am having the same issue. I ran the telnet on CMD, and it could not connect. Any ideas on what could be preventing the connection on that port?

Thank you.
Mastique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 06:40 PM   #6
Betta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default

First of all, do you have any firewall software installed? Second, are you on a standard home network or a university/corporate/etc. network that is not controlled/owned by you?

-Betta
Betta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.