Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2005, 05:49 PM   #1
vpmaster123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Default Done Port Forwarding for Router still can't Connect!

Hi guys,
I have read the previous posted messages to setup the free server. I have done Port Forwarding in the Router, but other client can't connect in to my server! Please help me what wrong!
here some picture when I configured the Port Forwarding








What's Wrong!!!
vpmaster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 01:15 AM   #2
YunZi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Hie

Hie, i have this same problem almost, i did same port forward but i can log on but no friends can log on?
YunZi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 12:32 PM   #3
Fermulator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I too am having the same problem.

Here's the interesting thing. It USED to work...but unfortunately I do not know "at which point" (therefore what did I do...) the server stopped working.

I've tried Ventrilo Server using the EXE and Ventrilo Server using the Service.

Internally, I'm able to connect to the local IP address of the Ventrilo Server.
Internally, if i specify to use it's external address (Internet Address), i receive teh message, "Unable to Connect".
Externally, if someone tries to connect using the Internet address, they receive the same errors.

SO: In short, INTERNAL connections work, but EXTERNAL does not.

THEREFORE: We assume its a router problem...except...I havn't changed any settings in my router. It STILL has a "Virtual Server" entry for Ventrilo, forwarding Port 3784 to my INTERNAL address where the server is located.

The Ventrilo Server Log indicated something like the following: (Which includes the CONF file details)

================================================== =======
20051221 12:11:43 WARNING: The [Intf] section of the INI file is for PRO servers only.
20051221 12:11:43 Version = 2.3.0
20051221 12:11:43 Name = Name's Ventrilo Server
20051221 12:11:43 Phonetic = Ven trilo Server
20051221 12:11:43 Auth = 0
20051221 12:11:43 Duplicates = 1
20051221 12:11:43 MaxClients = 8
20051221 12:11:43 SendBuffer = 131072
20051221 12:11:43 RecvBuffer = 131072
20051221 12:11:43 LogonTimeout = 5
20051221 12:11:43 CloseStd = 1
20051221 12:11:43 TimeStamp = 0
20051221 12:11:43 PingRate = 10
20051221 12:11:43 ExtraBuffer = 131072
20051221 12:11:43 ChanWidth = 0
20051221 12:11:43 ChanDepth = 8
20051221 12:11:43 ChanClients = 0
20051221 12:11:43 DisableQuit = 1
20051221 12:11:43 VoiceCodec = 0 (GSM 6.10)
20051221 12:11:43 VoiceFormat = 1 (11 KHz, 16 bit) - Bytes/Sec 2210
20051221 12:11:43 SilentLobby = 0
20051221 12:11:43 AutoKick = 0
20051221 12:11:43
20051221 12:11:43 Accepting connections on these interface(s).
20051221 12:11:43 1: 10.0.0.2 --(This is my INTERNAL IP)
20051221 12:11:43 2: 10.0.0.150 --(This is the "VPN" address...not needed, but it registers it anyways)
20051221 12:11:43 3: 127.0.0.1 --(This is the "localhost" address)
20051221 12:11:43
20051221 12:11:43 Accepting UDP Status/Control messages on these interface(s).
20051221 12:11:43 1: 10.0.0.2
20051221 12:11:43 2: 10.0.0.150
20051221 12:11:43 3: 127.0.0.1
20051221 12:11:43
20051221 12:11:44 READY:
20051221 12:11:51 MSG_CONN: ID 1, IP 10.0.0.3, Accepted. (8192,131072) (8192,131072)
20051221 12:11:51 LOGON: ID 1, IP 10.0.0.3, Username
20051221 12:11:52 NET: ID 1, Disconnect, 10054.
20051221 12:11:52 MSG_DISC: ID 1, From=548, To=837, Sec=1, Name=Username
================================================== =======

As you can see...it APPEARS that when connected VIA the external IP...the server automatically forces the user to quit? .... any ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help. Hopefully we can resolve this type of issue.

Last edited by Fermulator; 12-21-2005 at 10:52 PM.
Fermulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 12:49 PM   #4
Fermulator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Default

PS: It is interesting to note the similarities to a UNSUCCESSFUL login (ABOVE)....and a SUCCESSFUL Login (BELOW)

NOTE: This login was "Connected", then nearly a second later "Disconnect" by user.

20051221 12:46:50 MSG_CONN: ID 2, IP 10.0.0.3, Accepted. (8192,131072) (8192,131072)
20051221 12:46:50 LOGON: ID 2, IP 10.0.0.3, Username
20051221 12:46:52 NET: ID 2, Disconnect, 10054.
20051221 12:46:52 MSG_DISC: ID 2, From=548, To=897, Sec=2, Name=Username

NOTE: This login was "Connected", then several seconds later given a "Disconnect" command by user.

20051221 12:48:36 MSG_CONN: ID 3, IP 10.0.0.3, Accepted. (8192,131072) (8192,131072)
20051221 12:48:36 LOGON: ID 3, IP 10.0.0.3, Username
20051221 12:49:07 NET: ID 3, Disconnect, 10054.
20051221 12:49:07 MSG_DISC: ID 3, From=590, To=930, Sec=31, Name=Username

Last edited by Fermulator; 12-21-2005 at 12:56 PM.
Fermulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 12:56 PM   #5
Fermulator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Default

bump
Fermulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 01:13 PM   #6
Fermulator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Humm....

After some more testing....I'm not sure if it's something I changed...or what...

But Ventrilo Server Log is not longer "registering" external connection attemps. No log entries are generated anymore when a user attempts to make a connection on the external IP address. Nothing......

So now i REALLY think it's the router's fault...but it's still properly configured!....It's only the ONE PORT that needs forwarding right?
(EVEN SO: I even have this specific computer with the Ventrilo Server DMZ!!!)...
Fermulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 01:08 PM   #7
ransels
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same problem... I forwarded my router and took my ip but no works... if y try 192.168.0.101 it works but I know that is an ip behind the fire wall... I really want to know what is wrong... Isn't anybody who know how to fix it...
ransels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 02:00 AM   #8
Elder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

ermm why do you have "192.168.1.9" i dont think that that "9" at the end is right it should be a "1" should it not
Elder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 02:57 AM   #9
MaCcA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Monto, austrailia
Posts: 2
Default

yer i cant get my friend to connect i dunno how to fix it i wish sum1 will find a solution
MaCcA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 08:02 AM   #10
phish75
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I have the same problem now too. All was workin fine then yesterday no-one can connect externally. Did any of you find a solution?
phish75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.