Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2008, 12:25 PM   #1
Brewmeister
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default Vent connection issue on Vista

Hello all,

I instaled Vent ver 3.0.1 on a new PC and cannot connect. The new PC is running Vista Ultimate. I can see the server is avail, but when I press connect I get the error message that states my user name or passsword is incorrect. Yes, I have checked, re-checked and double re-rechecked the server/username/password info in the setup and it is correct. I have tried disabling the windows firewall and still get the same message. I am leaning toward somekind of LAN setup that I missed or am unaware of. I will run a ping test on the server later and post the results as well.

Here is some system info.

EVGA nVidia 750i mobo
EVGA nVidia 9800GTX+ (factory OC)
4GB of Corsair Dominator DDR2 RAM (1066)

The mobo has the onboard sound and Gigabit LAN.

Realtek HD
nVidia 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet

If anyone has had the same issue I would love to hear from you.

Last edited by Brewmeister; 10-20-2008 at 06:36 PM.
Brewmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 04:09 PM   #2
Brewmeister
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

As promised, here is the trace.

Tracing route to tx1.leetvent.com [75.126.14.156]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms ge-1-3-0-5.aggr02.odestx.grandecom.net [216.82
03.190]
4 24 ms 37 ms 22 ms at-0-3-0-63.aggr02.dllstx.grandecom.net [66.90
38.203]
5 60 ms 24 ms 22 ms ge-0-3-4.mpr1.dfw2.us.above.net [209.133.64.23
6 24 ms 23 ms 21 ms p5-0.ir1.dallas2-tx.us.xo.net [206.111.5.29]
7 26 ms 26 ms 23 ms 207.88.82.222.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.82.222]
8 30 ms 32 ms 31 ms 207.88.185.74.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.185.74]
9 31 ms 34 ms 28 ms border3.tge3-1-bbnet1.ext1.dal.pnap.net [216.5
191.22]
10 46 ms 62 ms 31 ms te2-1.cer03.dal01.dallas-datacenter.com [216.5
189.30]
11 34 ms 31 ms 31 ms po3.dar02.dal01.dallas-datacenter.com [66.228.
8.211]
12 32 ms 34 ms 48 ms po2.fcr01.dal01.dallas-datacenter.com [66.228.
8.158]
13 39 ms 38 ms 38 ms leetvent11.com [75.126.14.156]
Trace complete.


Here is the error message I get

Connected to server but unable to authenticate your login name and password. Make sure you entered the correct global server password or the password for your unique login name. You will be automatically banned if you try connecting with the wrong password several more times, so be sure you have the correct password before you try again. Passwords are case sensitive and must be completely retyped if you are making a change to it. The password will always be displayed as 8 (*'s or dots) even if the actual length of the password is shorter or longer then 8. You should also verify that you entered the correct IP address (or hostname) and Port number. If the port number is wrong you are connecting to the wrong server.

Last edited by Brewmeister; 10-20-2008 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Adding Info
Brewmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:43 PM   #3
Brewmeister
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Bump
Brewmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 09:11 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

can you connect to this test server:


frost.pure-voice.net port=3784
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 11:35 AM   #5
Brewmeister
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, but I get this error message


VoiceCommMixerStart: Non-mux based mixer does not have any connections.
Brewmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:23 PM   #6
Brewmeister
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, just for grins I created another user name and I got right in with no problems.

Must be a server side issue with my user name/id. I rent the server, so I have access to all the admin settings for the server.
Brewmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 01:54 PM   #7
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

to correct the non-mux based mixer, set the mixer to none.

and yes, you will need to correct your username and password set in the server for you user to connect. remember you need to use the password you set in the User Editor.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.