Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2008, 05:41 PM   #11
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

open taskmanager on the processes tab. clik at the top of the cpu column to sort by usage. start vent and watch to see if there's an app thats using all the cpu.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:09 PM   #12
Titanius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Default

svchost.exe is the only thing that jumps up slightly but it doesn't go up much at all.
Titanius is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:15 PM   #13
DerangedMoose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

I seem to be having a similar issue so maybe my posting here will help solve both of our problems.

Whenever I connect to a server, my entire computer locks up for about 30secs to 1min then connects fine. The same happens when I click just about any button in Ventrilo specifically including the Setup and Test buttons. The computer is a Dell Inspiron 1520 with SigmaTel audio (don't recall which one). The problem started very shortly after I installed SP1 on the system, but I do recall having a similar issue once before which ended with my sound totally cutting out and needing to reinstall. This was due to some corruption with a few dll files that I found when running sfc from command line (sfc was unable to repair them and the Dell tech was pretty much useless).

Currently, my audio works fine for both inbound and outbound. Ventrilo for all intensive purposes works on my computer besides for the previously mentioned lockups. As per suggestions found in the forums as well as in the FAQ, I tried using and not using DirectSound on both inbound and outbound and also tried deleting the ini file to have Ventrilo recreate it. Neither has produced any noticeable results.

Although it is not fully released to the public yet, I am curious if there are any known issues with Ventrilo running on Vista with SP1 installed. I am not sure if the issue I am having is related to SP1 or is completely separate, but it did arrive about the same time.
DerangedMoose is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:32 PM   #14
Titanius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Everything you explained is exactly what I have and I AM using Vista SP1 Final release (only companies have it at the moment it will be public soon).
Titanius is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 01:29 PM   #15
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

something else to try:

in vent setup/binds and speech tabs, set the devices to your soundcard and enable 'use directsound'

does sigmatel have any driver updates?
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:30 PM   #16
Titanius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Still doesn't fix the problem.
Titanius is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:59 PM   #17
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

how about setting 'process priority=high' in setup/misc ?

i'll see if the Devs have SP1 to try with
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:50 PM   #18
Titanius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Still no change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
i'll see if the Devs have SP1 to try with
Thanks
Titanius is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:25 PM   #19
Carlvjack
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I am having the same exact issue and I also have Vista SP1 installed.
Carlvjack is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:47 PM   #20
Titanius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Seems we have isolated the issue to SP1, at least we are pretty sure it is that now.
Titanius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.