Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 08:12 PM   #1
tgp1994
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default Unable to connect to locally hosted server using Dynamic DNS or outside IP with 2wire

Hello everyone.

I've been running a linux server for a long time on my Ubuntu box. Regarding outside connection, I used to have Comcast Cable, with the cable modem, and then a Linksys Router (Loved it with DD-WRT). Notice how I'm using the past tense here though? :P We recently switched to AT&T U-verse, thus changing our network topology to using just a 2wire 3801HGV Residential Gateway. I was fine with that, it seemed relatively stable and fast. However, I've just never liked 2wire's method for port forwarding.

None the less, I realized that after we started using that modem, I could no longer locally connect using either my Dynamic DNS (which I assure you is updated), or by using my outside IP address. This would almost certainly seem to indicate an issue with my configuration of the 2wire router, although I'm not quite sure what. I can of course ping the host of the ventrilo server, and the port for the ventrilo server is open (users not on my network can connect fine).

Does anyone else happen to have a 2wire based network device that has experienced similar issues, and knows/may know how to fix this?

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by tgp1994; 01-26-2011 at 08:37 PM.
tgp1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:59 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

if you are running the server on your local network, then connect using the internal IP.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 09:12 PM   #3
tgp1994
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgraf View Post
if you are running the server on your local network, then connect using the internal IP.
True, I could do that, although when I make the profile, I'd like to leave it there as my dynamic DNS address, so in the future, if I'm ever out and about, I don't have to lookup my home's current IP, then enter that. After all, that's one primary reason for using a dynamic DNS

There also seems to be something clearly wrong with my configuration, so I think it's best if I fix it... somehow.
tgp1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:33 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

the problem is with the router. most home routers don't know how to handle using your DNS or WAN ipaddress to loopback into your local LAN.

you can also configure the client to have multiple server ipaddresses associated with the same profile. just give them different names for the DNS or WAN ipaddress.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 11:56 AM   #5
tgp1994
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
the problem is with the router
I kind of figured that already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
most home routers don't know how to handle using your DNS or WAN ipaddress to loopback into your local LAN.
I would think most do, actually. The DDNS should return my home's IP, which either way should directly go into my ventrillo server once I provide the port.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
you can also configure the client to have multiple server ipaddresses associated with the same profile. just give them different names for the DNS or WAN ipaddress.
Ya, I suppose I could also do that... are you sure there isn't just a setting I can change on my Residential Gateway?
tgp1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 01:01 AM   #6
tgp1994
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Anyone at all?
tgp1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.