Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2010, 10:00 AM   #1
ekeia27iclo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Can't get the Mic to work

Recently I built a new computer, a Windows 7 with an ASUS Xonar DX PCI Express Audio Card. I am tryin to use my AudioFX Force Feedback Gaming Headset that worked perfectly with my old computer, however on this new one I can not get the mic to work. The speakers on the headset work fine, but not the mic. I've already checked to make sure the drivers were installed and that the mic is plugged in correctly, but I can't figure out why the mic doesn't work. I'm thinking that it has something to do with the settings in Ventrilo but I can't figure it out. Any help?
ekeia27iclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 06:58 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,440
Default

Testing the Microphone with Windows
(the microphone must work here before it will work with any voice-comm program)


Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:27 PM   #3
ekeia27iclo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

It works in that program, granted, it's extremely soft but it works none the less. I still however can not get it to work on vent.
ekeia27iclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 12:17 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,440
Default

in vent setup, set the input device to enable 'use directsound' then set the name to that of the mic device.

also try unchecking 'use directsound' then set the name

does your icon turn green when keying up?

is the mic usb or does it plug into the onboard sound

does it work with the 'test' function is vent setup
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 08:59 AM   #5
knapman65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

In the shortcut icon on your desktop make sure that it is set as Admin. (right click the icon, then choose the "set as admin") see if that helps.

Recently I had an issue where I could hear others in vent and I could reply but when I was in a game the vent only allowed me to hear not speak while playing a game.

The set admin resolved my issues.

Good luck!
knapman65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 12:10 AM   #6
ekeia27iclo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I've tried almost every configuration of input device that I can try.
My Iclon does turn green when keying.
The mic is the two plugs that go into the sound card and also has a USB if you wish to use it, but when I tried that I had static in the sound.
And I don't understand the test function in vent, but it works with the Microsoft test.
The vent is set to be used on Admin.
And I still cant get it to work.
ekeia27iclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 12:20 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,440
Default

in the vent setup/test function.

clik to button to start, hold down the ptt and say something. when you release the key you should hear it play back.

if you clik the monitor button and use the ptt key, what level of numbers do you see?

do you have anything set in the hardware mixer section?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.