Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2006, 07:02 PM   #1
Kazrath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Rcon and Server password.

I am renting a ventrilo server. This being the case I do not have access to the actual install location of the ventrilo server. The only access I have is through rcon/console.

My server was default auth mode set to 2. I have been using individualized User/Pass but this has become difficult as our guild has grown and I would like to change the auth mode to 1 and introduce a generic server password and only password protect specific channels. The administration would be easier.

So the question is: Using Rcon/console is it possible to change the server password? This apparently was available at one point with Rcon but the command password no longer is a valid command. Was it stripped for some reason?

Thanks,
Kazrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 07:16 PM   #2
Kazrath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Just bumping myself to the top after answering the same question 3 or 4 times. Gotta love port fowarding :P
Kazrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:41 PM   #3
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

contact your hosting regarding server passwords.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:54 PM   #4
Kazrath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Bah, that does not help much.

Why not enable the rcon admin to change the password through a remote command? That would make administration much easier. Right now I can only toggle it to No authentication or individual user authentication. Without being able to modify the server pass that is a major vulnrability.

So there is no option with rcon to change it
Kazrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 08:03 PM   #5
Ur-Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 327
Default

Well with rcon you are only granted access to the program, where as to change something in the programs configuration you need access to the operating system in order to save such a change (in this case, ventrilo's .ini file; it's simply a permissions thing. The program cannot authorise you to change something that it itself works under.
Unless a process does have permission to overwrite it's own configuration files after input from within the program via rcon?
Ur-Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.