Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2007, 10:34 PM   #1
k9i1k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Ventrilo and Darwine

In an effort to circumvent the whole GSM/Speex issue (my server won't install any beta software), I've downloaded and installed Darwine, the Windows emulation software. I've gotten it installed, but the program won't run due to an error. To sum, it cannot find the FreeType font library, then returns an unhandled page fault. Does anyone have any experience with Vent on Wine who might know how to get this working?
k9i1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 10:44 PM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
(my server won't install any beta software)
Your server doesn't have to install anything. It's simply the users that connect who need to run the 2.3.2 beta 3 client, which by the way, is the version recommended by the developer.

As for Wine, I would be quite surprised if Ventrilo worked, given the very young nature of Wine on OS X. If you really want to run the Windows Ventrilo, I'd recommend you you purchase a copy of Windows and use the VMWare beta virtual machine.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 06:18 PM   #3
k9i1k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Okay, I guess I need some clarification. The person who is my server admin said that he has already spoken to his hosting company about switching, and that their response was that in the interest of keeping things running smoothly for all their clients, they would not run any beta updates. I understand that the beta update in question here is only necessary for the end user. Does a change to Speex on our server affect every server that the company is hosting or is my admin just unclear about the process?
k9i1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 08:35 PM   #4
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Your admin is just unclear about the process. The change would only affect the server which he is renting.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.