Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 11:50 PM   #1
ajroxit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sin city
Posts: 2
Default robot voice, yes i am posting yet ANOTHER case of it.

well, i somehow have been infected by robot voice. vent was working great a week or so ago and then BAM enter the robot voice.
system specs:
intel core2 quad 9550
xfx 790i mobo
4gb ocz ddr3
xfx 260 max-core video card
soundblaster X-FI Go USB
four 80gb hard drives in a striped raid array
1000watt PSU
60" plasma TV
win7 ultimate
wired cat6 gigabit lan to my router for internet

what i have checked / tried:
speak easy bandwidth test shows 23MB DL and 8MB UL consistant
event viewer shows no issues to speak of
ping -t and tracert show no hiccups to speak of. inside and outside of my network to the vent server
dxdiag shows no issues to speak of
all of the various fixes on this website and a few others
set the CPU affinity for vent to run on a single core only
removed any extension cables so it goes from: usb port to X-FI Go to earbud head set
replaced earbud headset
tried using onboard sound
restored windows to a previous state where vent worked
beating on my keyboard until all of the little buttons were scattered across my floor {ok, not really}
threatened my vent client with abysmal doom!! {yes really}
donkey punching a midget
all of these and many others to crude to mention to no avail...../heavy sigh

does there happen to be a check list of sorts that i could look over as far as what causes robot voice? do i need to open / forward ports on my router to make it work? i did end up swapping out my wireless router as my 14$ red china special from newegg crapped out on me {ya, vent worked with the old crappy mcweak sauce router i was using for nearly 4 years}. does threatening vent with abysmal doom!! actually do anything? im trying to keep this post on the lighter side as we all know how forking irritating something as crazy and rediculous as robot voice can make us all.
so, being a geeky ol' nerd, if anyone has from more defined to more radical fixes, i am all ears.
thanks for your time everyone,
AJ
ajroxit is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 06:06 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,331
Default

i actually enjoyed the lighter notes there.

did you try the suggestion here - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=45745

how does it sound using the vent setup/test button function

you can also try this, though i don't like doing this myself:

Starting From Scratch

Write down your Username and Server information
exit vent
goto START/RUN and enter: %appdata%\ventrilo

right-click on ventrilo2.ini and select “Rename”
give the file a different name

or
delete the Ventrilo folder
restart vent

re-enter your username and server information
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:07 PM   #3
ajroxit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sin city
Posts: 2
Default

low and behold.....the answer presents itself.
so, the connectivity from my ear bud style headset to my computer goes like this:
USB port on computer --> USB cable --> sound blaster XFI Go --> little 2 to 1 dongle / adapter (from single connector on ear buds to dual mic / headphone jack on XFI Go) --> earbud style head set.

just being the anal retentative geek that i am, i decided to grab another ear bud head set. just to make sure what i had was in working order. as i was switching things in and out to test the components, i found out the the dongle connecting my earbuds to my XFI Go was the culprit.
now, for the record, that piece still works as far as recording to a .wav file or whatever. as a matter of fact, if i use the world of warcraft in game chat, it works just fine. im not stating that to knock vent. i think vent rocks for what it is and it does so much more than let me and my buddies shoot the breeze.
i am saying that to bring up a much more important point in the matter. i bet all of the unfixable robot voice / static problems could well be the cables or headset used. sure it works with other things just like mine did. but that doesnt mean a thing if it doesnt work with vent, like mine didnt.
so for the record, i think it should be put in the trouble shooting portion of these forums that the hardware and cabling needs to be checked as well. from the sound device {onboard or otherwise} to the headset used and all of the things in between.
getting someone who is at thier whits end to believe a piece of hardware that works with other things just fine is the culprit will probably be the hardest part.

to be honest, this had happened to me once before. the robot voice / static had been plaguing me for about a month or so. to make it even harder to figure out, it was pretty much when the SPEEX codec was used. GSM would still crap out but not nearly as much as SPEEX would. so we made channels that ran SPEEX for the mac users and GSM as a standard for everyone else. but after getting my ass kicked for so long and realizing it had to be something other then the SPEEX codec, i started playing with different hardware {sound cards, USB sound devices, the onboard sound} and the problem still persisted. i tried different operating systems {2k pro, XP home / pro / 64bit, win 7 home premium / ultimate. NEVER vista though}. i used different vent versions while juggling between 32bit and 64bit. i tried hosting a vent server thinking it was a hosting company problem {bumped my internet connection to 50megs down and 25 megs up to handle in traffic issues. im near the cable company and im on the new fiber optic network}. i even used my macbook pro to run just the vent client. which, oddly enough worked because i wasnt using the bad cable extension at the time as the mac was not more then 2 feet away from where i was sitting. that of course worked.

anyway, i wrote this long wided post because vent is a huge part of online gaming. from FPS to MMORPG type games, we need the ability to communicate. vent really revolutionized how we think of our online cohorts. those people went from "some guys {and gals} you raid with "to my friends that i hang out with". that and i wanted to brag a little that all of the hard work i put into finding the root cause of my problems was not in vain. now, i hope that others can learn from what i have figured out. a huge and ginormous "thank you" goes out to all of the others that gave me all of the other things to try so i could get my vent working again. the fact that i tried all of the things listed here and other sites that didnt fix my problems really was that extra nudge i needed to geek out on this problem. i know this will help many, many others.
feel free to PM me if you think i might be able to help figure your problems out.
AJ ^^)

PS.. thanks for making a damn fine product. i have learned soooo much about vent that our little vent server really "roxor meh soxor".
ajroxit is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 11:57 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,331
Default

Thanks for the update and the excellent troubleshooting. It seems that you have a unique audio setup that just took a little longer to figure out.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.