Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 11:41 AM   #1
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default Severe Lag problems with vent

Okay, my problem is quite tedious and makes it impossible to utilize ventrilo, especially for gaming.

I have win7 64 Ultimate
Realtek High definition (latest driver)
Tried to reinstall ventrilo several times.
Have tried with firewall turned 100% off and on, no difference.

Problem is:
Everytime I talk my ping sky rockets, everyone hears me as a lagging muppet and when they talk I hear them as lagging. My mate (using same net connection as me) have no problems what-so-ever.

Screen of my vt settings and speedtest:




So, I am in dire need of help to solve this, and if I forgot to add any pertinent information, just tell me and I will get it for you (if I know how ;o).

Thanks in advance for any assistance at all =)
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 11:56 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

suggest first setting up vent as shown here:

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=43879

also set the hardware mixer to 'none' to test.

Also check for BIOS and chipset updates

When checking for BIOS, chipset and certain onboard hardware drivers, you should only check the pc (or specific motherboard) manufacturers website. The manufacturer is responsible for maintaining the proper version of driver for your specific hardware.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 12:32 PM   #3
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Thank you for the swift reply. Will try downloading drivers (thought I am pretty sure I got the latest).

Will post back if it works or not.
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:14 PM   #4
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Nop, I still get huge lag spikes.

And now everytime I try and speak my microphone transmits a "laser-like" sound, and I hear it as well :/
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 02:09 PM   #5
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Okay, update:

It doesn't spike from 30ping -> 5k anymore but it still spikes when people speak, and when I speak. It is making it quite unbearable to talk/play still.

If anyone has a fix or know what could be causing this, will love the help.
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 03:24 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

in vent setup/misc tab, try setting 'process priority=high'

also try plugging the mic into the rear jack to test
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:26 PM   #7
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
in vent setup/misc tab, try setting 'process priority=high'

also try plugging the mic into the rear jack to test
Thanks for reply mate, but sadly have tried both, nothing worked.
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:23 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,408
Default

does your system have this installed?

Cyberlink Powercinema or PowerDVD

Vent lockup or lag
http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37949

can you post a pic of the taskmanager/processes tab ('all users' box checked)
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 01:39 PM   #9
Smaaen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

No, don't have powerdvd, and tis not when I connect/enter setup. It's whilst talking or listening to people talk.

Here is a picture of taskmaster, wasn't room for a few, so writing those at the bottom:



winlogon.exe
wlcomm.exe *32
WLIDSVC.EXE
WLIDSVCM.EXE
wmpnetwrk.exe

Thanks again for the reply.
Smaaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 03:25 PM   #10
Support @ TypeFrag.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 251
Default

I know that this may not be optimal for you, but we have had numerous reports of the same type of issue with users running Avast A/V software on their computers. Just for testing purposes, I would recommend either completely disabling or uninstalling Avast. In almost all cases we have come across, once Avast has been removed the issue has cleared up.
Support @ TypeFrag.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.