Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2008, 06:09 PM   #1
Janie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Question Speex codec GSM error

Okay, I did a search and read every thread I could find on this error. I am the administrator and am renting vent from typefrag. They have an easy to use control panel and as you can see, I have the server set to use Speex.



I have two Mac users who receive this encoder error:

"Failed to get encoder for specific Codec.

This client platform currently supports only the Speex codec. the server and/or channel is configured to use the 'GSM 6.10' codec."



They are the only Mac users. All of the Windows users have no problems.

I have already read the FAQs posted here:

http://www.ventrilo.com/faq.php#codec1


All of the threads I have read say the admin needs to change the codec to Speex. Mine has been set to Speex as shown in the above screenshot. The server has been restarted. The users have version 3.0.0 and 3.0.1.

Can anyone tell me what my next troubleshooting step should be?

Thank you.
Janie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 10:48 AM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

when you check the status of ventrilo using the Server browser in the client, does it show Speex is the default codec? if not, please contact typefrag to check your server configuration.

are you using per channel codecs also?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 11:19 AM   #3
Janie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default ty

Thank you for your response. My status does show Speex. I will verify with these two users that theirs does also.



I am not using per channel. The codec is global.

I will update when I find out if the users also show speex.
Janie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 06:24 PM   #4
Janie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Okay, I checked with one of the users having problems and he reports that his Server Browser says *Not Supported Yet*

I have opened a ticket with my host and will update.
Janie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:31 PM   #5
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

well, the server browser is not functional in the MAC client yet.
have these users with problems doulbe check their information and use the status page.
www.ventrilo.com/status.php
it will show the server config.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:20 PM   #6
Support @ TypeFrag.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 251
Default Speex codecs on server

Please make sure that each one of your channels is using the Speex codec. With the new version of Ventrilo, you can set up channels to use different codecs. To check/change a specific channel's codec, log into the server as the administrator and right-click on each channel. From there, go to Channel Admin -> Edit and make sure that each channel is indeed using a Speex codec. We have seen quite a few users with this problem lately due to the different codecs in the channels. Make sure to let us know if you are still having this problem.
Support @ TypeFrag.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 04:54 PM   #7
rapid13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I am completely out of my depth, but why is it Windows users do not have this problem?
rapid13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.