Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2011, 12:24 PM   #41
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,429
Default

@ dawnah

can you post details about your system and internet connection plz.

who's your ISP?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 02:04 PM   #42
sn1p3r
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Default

changing that firewall setting didnt work and I have the correct exceptions so still pretty stuck. Did you have any luck with AVG?
sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 08:50 PM   #43
jdwise
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Just wanted to add that I'm having this trouble as well.
jdwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:16 AM   #44
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,429
Default

i installed the free version of AVG (on win7) and didn't have any problems.

@ jdwise

are you also using t-mobile in the UK ?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 02:43 PM   #45
sn1p3r
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Default

I thought I'd try a safer method than uninstalling my AVG and installed a fresh copy of XP SP3 Home on a handy laptop hdd. Installed all motherboard, sound and gfx card drivers. Then installed the T-Mobile Dongle software. Connected up. Installed vent and entered clan server info. Still getting the Server is available then when try to connect just sticks on contacting server just like it just does anywaylol.

Last edited by sn1p3r; 07-14-2011 at 02:45 PM.
sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 03:52 PM   #46
sn1p3r
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Phoned T-Mobile up, they block all VoIP INCLUDING ventrilo. Only way they will unblock it is if your on a high rate tariff. But I had a word with the guy I was on the phone with said for me to post on the T-Mobile website about ventrilo, and they will test it themselves to determine it's data usage as I was adamant it didn't use no where near as much as programs like skype since that incorporates video calling as well. So fingers crossed.

Last edited by sn1p3r; 07-14-2011 at 03:55 PM.
sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:41 AM   #47
Dawnah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I just finally did a restore, its working properly now, I think it was a virus, not sure.
Dawnah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:53 AM   #48
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,429
Default

@ sn1p3r

thanks for that update. i suspected as much after you did the laptop test and got the same result.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 09:01 AM   #49
dlerotosl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Default

What if this problem has a relation to the area you are located in? I mean that certain features are accessible from one zip area https://postcodefinder.net/ while being blocked from the other areas? It would be interesting to know your findings. I see that some users have overcome the problem. It would be good to know how they did it. Can you share your experience with others?

Last edited by dlerotosl; 01-10-2020 at 04:13 PM.
dlerotosl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.