Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2014, 05:55 PM   #1
duhwhat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Default PTT bug

I have a strange bug. PTT works fine, except in one case. When I disconnect from a server, upon relogging, PTT ceases to work. I can get it working again by going into to set up, and simply clicking in the field where the PTT hotkey is set. I don't have to re-enter the key, as it's already there. Then it resumes working after hitting OK at the bottom of the setup pane. Anyone else have this bug?
duhwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 08:07 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,333
Default

do you have this option enabled?

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showpost.p...65&postcount=8
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 12:10 AM   #3
duhwhat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
yes
duhwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:49 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,333
Default

have you tried testing using a different ptt key? a key that most apps don't use, like the grave (`) key

are there any error messages in the vent log file that might relate to this problem?
rt-clik in the vent window > view > log file (also check the console log window)
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 04:50 PM   #5
duhwhat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Default

20141202 18:03:56 Unable to open password file.
20141202 18:11:01 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 7.
20141202 18:11:36 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 9.
20141202 18:23:53 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 15.
20141202 18:27:25 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 9.
20141202 18:39:15 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 11.
20141202 18:59:55 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 9.
20141202 19:29:25 CEvtText::Get, illegal code value 9.
20141202 19:37:55 CEvtText::Read, Unable to open file /Users/PMB/Library/Preferences/Ventrilo/default.vet
20141202 19:37:55 Creating the default VET file '/Users/PMB/Library/Preferences/Ventrilo/default.vet'


using the ~ doesn't change the behavior
duhwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:25 PM   #6
duhwhat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Default

any advice?
duhwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 12:46 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,333
Default

well, this one has me at a loss.

can you post a pic of the following plz to get a snapshot of your system:

finder > applications > utilities folder > activity monitor > select 'all processes' and 'cpu' (on bottom)

make sure to scroll to get the whole list.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 01:25 PM   #8
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

This sounds like a permissions issue.

Use Disk Utility (Applications->Utilities->Disk Utility) to repair permissions.

If that doesn't work, create a new user account on your Mac and try it under that account.

Report the results back to us.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 09:38 AM   #9
duhwhat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaycyn View Post
This sounds like a permissions issue.

Use Disk Utility (Applications->Utilities->Disk Utility) to repair permissions.

If that doesn't work, create a new user account on your Mac and try it under that account.

Report the results back to us.
Same behavior. Created a regular user test account, and my account is an administrator account. Disconnecting, then reconnecting causes the PTT bind to stop working until opening the setup menu.
duhwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 12:42 PM   #10
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

That's pretty random.

Can you check the Vent log again (when you are logged into the test user account) and post it?

rt-clik in the vent window > view > log file (also check the console log window)

also

Which Mac do you have?
What OS are you running
Do you have Firewall turned on or any Virus apps.

You may also be having a Malware issue. Check it with this:

www.adwaremedic.com
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.