Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 10:25 PM   #1
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default Weird Problem

In the last two weeks, I've come across an interesting problem.

I'll log into vent, and my ping will be low 2 digits. Doesn't matter if I talk or not, it quickly slows down. I get a ping of 4-5 digits. Sometimes as high as 22k. It doesn't stay there. It's almost like a rheostat being dialed low to high and back again.

I don't know jack about Trace routes and such. So, if I need to do that, I could use a quick explanation.

Thanks.
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:51 PM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Contact your ISP and find out if they're doing any traffic shaping.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 08:17 PM   #3
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Done some checking on my ISP. According to them, they use Ventrilo for certain portions of their business, so they don't hinder it in anyway.

Any other ideas?
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 03:09 AM   #4
Sylvar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Im having the exact same problem and it has been for the about the past 2 weeks as well. you start with a low ping then it becomes huge and you vent either freezes or drops you correct?
Sylvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 12:23 PM   #5
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I'm not exactly sure that we are having the same problem, Sylvar.

My ping starts out low, but Vent doesn't freeze or drop me regularly.

The rheostat description I used still is the best way I know to describe what I get. Imagine your ping is on a dial, and for some reason it's getting dialed to high, then back to low. Then back to high, and repeat.

Voice quality from others is usually good. Sometimes I get things after they've been said, other times I get multiple statements at once and it becomes a mishmash.

My vocal quality has up until recently been good. Now, I'm low in volume (haven't changed mic or settings) and frequently cut out. Combined with the ping, and on my end I get people complaining about my talking in vent being horrible as I finish the sentence.

I lead raids for my Warcraft guild. I really need to get this fixed.
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 12:49 PM   #6
jgomberg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

What is the IP address of the vent server you are having problems with?

From what physical location are you having trouble, home, office, hotel, Pakistan?

What kind of connection are you on, dialup, dsl, cable, dedicated, Cell phone or wireless cell card?

Is your computer connected by cable or by wireless? If wireless, how far are you from your wireless access point (AP)? How many other systems share the AP? Is it a closed wireless network or open such that a neighbor can share your connection?

What is the latency range that you are seeing on your pings?

Have you performed a traceroute to see where the latency is occurring?

Are you seeing packet loss? If you do a ping -t you will see a sequence number on every return ping. If you find that your missing sequence numbers then you are experiencing packet losses. Again, that is where your traceroute application can be used to help locate the node in your path to the server where the packets are dropping.

Inquiring minds want to know (and really can't assist you unless most of these questions have answers).

Regards,
jgomberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 03:00 PM   #7
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgomberg View Post
What is the IP address of the vent server you are having problems with?
216.86.155.108

Quote:
From what physical location are you having trouble, home, office, hotel, Pakistan?
My home in northeast Kansas.

Quote:
What kind of connection are you on, dialup, dsl, cable, dedicated, Cell phone or wireless cell card?
Cable

Quote:
Is your computer connected by cable or by wireless? If wireless, how far are you from your wireless access point (AP)? How many other systems share the AP? Is it a closed wireless network or open such that a neighbor can share your connection?
Wireless. 15-18 feet from the base station. One other system. Closed wireless network, does not broadcast ssid, and has a 20 character random password.

Quote:
What is the latency range that you are seeing on your pings?
Normally I have a ping of 25-27. It spikes to 5k, 8k and as high as 22k.

Quote:
Have you performed a traceroute to see where the latency is occurring?
1 10.0.1.1 (10.0.1.1) 1.138 ms 0.833 ms 0.734 ms
2 10.221.254.254 (10.221.254.254) 10.048 ms 9.565 ms 7.778 ms
3 222.5.124.24.cm.sunflower.com (24.124.5.222) 9.595 ms 10.648 ms 9.732 ms
4 81.3.124.24.cm.sunflower.com (24.124.3.81) 8.962 ms 8.826 ms 8.651 ms
5 pos3-2.gw3.kcy4.alter.net (157.130.162.157) 34.471 ms 30.156 ms 29.565 ms
6 0.so-0-3-2.xl2.kcy4.alter.net (152.63.93.190) 29.318 ms 29.652 ms 27.721 ms
7 0.so-5-0-0.xl2.chi13.alter.net (152.63.64.14) 23.205 ms 22.066 ms 23.318 ms
8 pos7-0.gw1.chi13.alter.net (152.63.69.181) 24.122 ms 23.173 ms 22.414 ms
9 wbsconnect-gw.customer.alter.net (65.207.236.126) 66.330 ms 66.849 ms 67.776 ms
10 61.216-86-149.nozonenet.com (216.86.149.61) 23.542 ms 22.423 ms 25.294 ms
11 108.216-86-155.nozonenet.com (216.86.155.108) 22.220 ms 23.767 ms 25.162 ms


Quote:
Are you seeing packet loss? If you do a ping -t you will see a sequence number on every return ping. If you find that your missing sequence numbers then you are experiencing packet losses. Again, that is where your traceroute application can be used to help locate the node in your path to the server where the packets are dropping.
Not sure how to get the ping -t to work. Sorry if I seem stupid. Never used the command line that much.

Quote:
Inquiring minds want to know (and really can't assist you unless most of these questions have answers).

Regards,
Hopefully this will help folks figure out my problem.

Last edited by Sailingmaster; 11-15-2007 at 01:54 AM.
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 02:42 PM   #8
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Bumpity-bump.

Please help! Thanks!
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 08:16 PM   #9
Sailingmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Bumpity-bump again.

I did install 3.0.

Same problems.

Am I screwed? Should I just give up on trying to use the app?
Sailingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.