Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 08:56 PM   #1
DrakeKage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default Problem with microphone!

Okay so this just happend recently , but my friends can only hear static when i try to talk, they dont hear me talking. This is the same mic that I have been using for a few months and nothing went wrong with it till now. When i tested my mic, the recording was only static. My microphone is the one that connects to the pink and green jacks on my computer, and my OS is Vista. I can hear all the sounds on vent like entering and leaving a channel etc... I checked everything on the setup page, input is set to my mic and output is at default. Windows says that my mic is working. I just don't know what to do and its been bothering me for a few days now becauase I can't talk on vent. Please help would be appreciated.
DrakeKage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 10:04 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,448
Default

how does it sound in this test:

Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 07:10 PM   #3
DrakeKage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

srry i reply back so late... its just a hissing sound
DrakeKage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 07:11 PM   #4
DrakeKage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
how does it sound in this test:

Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording
sorry i reply so late... its just a hissing sound
DrakeKage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 08:06 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,448
Default

ok, that indicates a problem with either the mic or the onboard mic input.

first try installing audio drivers:

Check the Audio driver to make sure it is up to date. Or try re-installing the current driver.
(note: some USB Headsets do not require a driver)
(Don’t assume the driver is up to date as a newer one may have been released since the computer was built)

- If you have a brand-name PC, like Dell or HP, then check the manufacturers website for driver updates.
- If you built the PC and use the on-board sound device then check the motherboard manufacturers website for drivers for your model motherboard.
- If you use a plug-in soundcard, ex: SoundBlaster, then check that manufacturers website for drivers.

Also check for BIOS and chipset updates

When checking for BIOS, chipset and certain onboard hardware drivers, you should only check the pc (or specific motherboard) manufacturers website for your make/model. The manufacturer is responsible for maintaining the proper version of driver for their specific hardware.

For example: Realtek is an OEM manufacturer of audio chips and there are many different revisions of each. The latest driver found on the Realtek site may not be compatible with the version of chip in your pc, and could cause problems like 'stereo mix' to not be available. Realtek comments to this effect on their download page.

if possible, try plugging in a different mic, or try plugging your current mic into another pc and run the windows test again.


in windows c-panel/sounds/recording tab: disable all other mic devices:

Windows Control-Panel > Sound > Playback & Recording tabs > rt-click in the window and select "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" > rt-click on all unused devices and select "disable"

then in the properties for your mic, try adjusting the levels to a mid-point

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 07-13-2011 at 08:09 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 08:41 PM   #6
DrakeKage
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
ok, that indicates a problem with either the mic or the onboard mic input.

first try installing audio drivers:

Check the Audio driver to make sure it is up to date. Or try re-installing the current driver.
(note: some USB Headsets do not require a driver)
(Donít assume the driver is up to date as a newer one may have been released since the computer was built)

- If you have a brand-name PC, like Dell or HP, then check the manufacturers website for driver updates.
- If you built the PC and use the on-board sound device then check the motherboard manufacturers website for drivers for your model motherboard.
- If you use a plug-in soundcard, ex: SoundBlaster, then check that manufacturers website for drivers.

Also check for BIOS and chipset updates

When checking for BIOS, chipset and certain onboard hardware drivers, you should only check the pc (or specific motherboard) manufacturers website for your make/model. The manufacturer is responsible for maintaining the proper version of driver for their specific hardware.

For example: Realtek is an OEM manufacturer of audio chips and there are many different revisions of each. The latest driver found on the Realtek site may not be compatible with the version of chip in your pc, and could cause problems like 'stereo mix' to not be available. Realtek comments to this effect on their download page.

if possible, try plugging in a different mic, or try plugging your current mic into another pc and run the windows test again.


in windows c-panel/sounds/recording tab: disable all other mic devices:

Windows Control-Panel > Sound > Playback & Recording tabs > rt-click in the window and select "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" > rt-click on all unused devices and select "disable"

then in the properties for your mic, try adjusting the levels to a mid-point
I tried everything you suggested but nothing worked, I guess its a problem with the mic. Do you think that a USB mic would work?
DrakeKage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:36 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,448
Default

yes, a usb mic would work as it bypasses the onboard sound. if you change devices then make sure you configure vent to use the new device.

vent setup/voice-binds-speech tabs, set the output/input to enable 'use directsound' then set the name to that of the new device.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.