Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2018, 01:17 AM   #1
wewsley7021
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Default not working

why is my vent server not working, cant find it, or sign in win 10 user, and by the way why are the stupid human number so dam small that I have to take a pictures and zoom in. and no I don't need glasses this crap is ridiculous
wewsley7021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 04:05 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

does you server respond to this request - http://ventrilo.com/status.php

if you are the server owner then you need to contact the hosting company.

contact a server admin to verify the hostname/ipaddress/port#, or check to see if the server has been moved.
-----------------------

other tests to try:

Perform a traceroute to the server. The traceroute will display all the nodes the network packets flow through to get to the server. 3 columns show the number of milliseconds (ms) it took to reach that node. Look for any unusually large numbers when compared to complete trace. (note: an asterisk (*) in place of time indicates a time-out for the response)

Right-click the Windows Start button
Command Prompt {hit enter}
tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

(example: tracert support.ventrilo.com )

try the telnet test:

start > run
cmd {hit enter}
telnet serverhostname port#

(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If Telnet is able to connect then the screen will go blank. If not, then you will see an error message about not being able to connect.

Enabling Telnet in Vista/Windows 7 / 8 / 10

Control-Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off / select “Telnet Client” / click OK

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#. if you've eliminated all possibilities with your internal network then try contacting your ISP and have them try to telnet to the server to see if they can connect from their end.

Quote:
why are the stupid human number so dam small that I have to take a pictures and zoom in.
i don't understand what this is referring to? can you be more specific plz.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.