Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 09:23 AM   #1
entr0py
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default Trouble with Client version 3.0.8

Good morning folks!

I am having some issues with 3.0.8 connecting to my 3.0.3 server. *Groan* not another thread about this, i know i know but I think my situation is a little more strange.

First off I'm running the windows server (version 3.0.3) and the client (3.0.8) on the same machine. I wanted to test it out before I deployed it for a few friends.

I have my client pointing to localhost (127.0.0.1 wanted to use loopback and not hostname in case there was issues with lookups). All I ever get is the "contacting server" message.

Since I'm quite familiar with network troubleshooting, I figured the first thing I'd do is telnet to localhost on port 3784. It connects without any issue. I also checked my netstat table and it is showing that it is in fact listening on port 3784 for both TCP and UDP.

I found this odd, so I decided to fire up wireshark in hopes I could see how the packets were flowing.

From the client I can see the packets going to the server. This is a good start. However, the server never seems to respond. Not sure why.

I figure that maybe it was getting confused some how, so I decided to try in two virtual machines. These two VMs were running Windows XP SP2. One with the server and one with the client. I can telnet from the client to the server over port 3784 but I'm still getting the same "contacting server" message and nothing more from the client.

I'm at a total loss here. There is no reason this shouldn't work. No firewalls, no routers even on localhost.

Does anyone have any suggestions where to go from here? Oh, and i'm uninstalled/re-installed too. Same result.

One more piece of the puzzle, I can right click on the "MSG: Contacting server." message and navigate to "View" -> "Server Browser" and the Server Browser window is showing the details from my server. So there is *some* kind of connectivity there.

Last edited by entr0py; 02-02-2012 at 09:44 AM. Reason: more detail
entr0py is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:22 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,425
Default

it might be a problem with port 6100 UDP.

try connecting the local client using 'localhost' instead of 127.0.0.1

have you configured portforwarding on the router yet?

3784 TCP
3784 UDP
6100 UDP
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:33 PM   #3
entr0py
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
it might be a problem with port 6100 UDP.

try connecting the local client using 'localhost' instead of 127.0.0.1

have you configured portforwarding on the router yet?

3784 TCP
3784 UDP
6100 UDP
Thanks for the suggestions but there is no router. I also tried running the server and client on the same host. I did also try using the loopback address (127.0.0.1) as well as the localhost DNS name.

The client and server are on the same lan. No need for a gateway and no firewalls.

There is network connectivity and I can telnet to port 3784 and it connects.
entr0py is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,425
Default

definitely strange. using 127.0.0.1 or localhost should always connect.

are you running the vent server as a desktop app or as a windows service?

using the client on the same pc as the server, can you connect to this test server:

frost.pure-voice.net
port=3784
no password
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:38 AM   #5
entr0py
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
definitely strange. using 127.0.0.1 or localhost should always connect.

are you running the vent server as a desktop app or as a windows service?

using the client on the same pc as the server, can you connect to this test server:

frost.pure-voice.net
port=3784
no password
I think I discovered this issue.

I am running the client and server in a closed network, meaning no internet access. The goal was to set up something for internal people (coworkers) to use while playing games after work.

I set up this same thing at home, and viola it worked. I was able to monitor the server during start up and noticed that it calls home via UDP port 6100, then does a quick TLS handshake. I'm assuming this is for a license verification. Since my first attempts are on a LAN without internet this would fail.

I didn't notice any information in documentation that this would occur.
entr0py is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.