Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2005, 04:45 PM   #1
whookid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default Password change problem

there is probably a very simple explanation for this but i cant figure it out and i've been racking my brain. i have used ventrilo for about a year and a half but i recently needed 2.3 to go to a different server. i have tried everything i know to change the password from what it used to be on my old server, but everytime i change it and hit ok, it goes right back. i have reinstalled, deleted the server and started from scratch but nothing works, it always goes back to the old password. what can i do?
whookid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 03:01 AM   #2
X-Gaming
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 286
Default

Which password are you referring to?
X-Gaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 09:03 AM   #3
whookid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

password to enter server, i know i have all the correct info for it. it just wont stay changed.
whookid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 01:53 AM   #4
whookid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

still no answer for this? i need it for MC on WoW!
whookid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 02:20 AM   #5
Morin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default The same thing

The same thing is happening to me. However, my situation is a bit different. I just spent a few hours installing/setting up Windows XP thru VPC 6 for Mac OSX. When everything was ready, I downloaded Vent. I went to test it and I entered all the proper information for my WoW guild's vent server. For some reason I cant figure out, after I click done when editing the server information (server, port number, pass, etc), the password (supposed to be 12 characters long) is automaticly changed to somthing shorter, which obviously denies me access.

I was so happy to finally have access to vent, and I was almost home free when this happened

O well, ive come this far... im sure a solution is out tehre.., please help!
Morin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 06:04 AM   #6
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

the number of stars changing is by design as a security feature. Several programs will change the apparent length of the password for display purposes only. If everything is entered correctly, the password is encrpyted into your personal settings file but will only dispolay as 8 *
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 12:02 PM   #7
whookid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

it always displays as 8 stars? interesting....why then can i still not log onto this server i'm trying to get to? i'm have double checked all my info many times.
whookid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 12:12 PM   #8
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

check with the server administrator to verify that the server is setup properly and that your username does not have special log on information in the USR file.

is this a private server or profesionnal host?

what is the exact error that Ventrilo returns?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 12:41 PM   #9
whookid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

hmmm, i'm a noob so idk what a USR file is. i think its a private server. and i get an "unable to connect to server" msg. i know its setup properly b/c lots of ppl use it.
whookid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 12:52 PM   #10
X-Gaming
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whookid
hmmm, i'm a noob so idk what a USR file is. i think its a private server. and i get an "unable to connect to server" msg. i know its setup properly b/c lots of ppl use it.
Your going to have to get a hold of the person that owns the server.

Have him login as server admin and delete the entry in the user management console with your name.

Once that is done all you should have to do is login not using a password.

You could also try logging in with a different username and see what happens...
X-Gaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.