Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2006, 11:30 AM   #1
darklunatic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default I play on a mac and..

I play World of Warcraft on my mac. My guilds vent only works with windows. Is there a free way for them to make it work for macs? Is there a program I can download or anything? Thanks
darklunatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 11:43 AM   #2
Darkstream
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same issue..****nning on a mini...installed everything, i can hear the game, people signing in and out, but when they talk, no sound...i don't have a headset yet but still should be able to hear them through speakers
Darkstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 11:43 AM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,385
Default

have the server admin reconfigure the server to use the Speex codec.

VERY IMPORTANT: ALL (and I do mean ALL) windows users that connect to the server MUST download and install the vent windows BETA client as it fixes problems when using the speex codec.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 11:45 AM   #4
Darkstream
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

what does the Speex do? i don't know much about the program yet, but guessing thats all i would have to say and they would know?
Darkstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 11:55 AM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,385
Default

Speex is a version of CODEC (compressor/decompreesor) that allows communcation. The servers default to using the GSM codec. the server admin should know what your talking about. if not, have him read the ventrilo_srv.htm which explains it. if the server is a pro/rented then he might have to make the change thru the control-panel or he has to contact the hosting site.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 11:58 AM   #6
Darkstream
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Alright thanks! Couldn't figure it out and getting near that 60 line in WoW so gotta make sure i can use it...otherwise..no instances
Darkstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:06 PM   #7
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

http://ventrilo.com/forums/showpost....75&postcount=4
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.