Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2006, 05:42 AM   #1
Bellop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default I cant hear or say any thing

sinds 1 week im in a new guild on World of Warcaft, They use VT. So after a wile i found the Mac version of VT.
i instal it i log in (happy :P), in the first raid, i discoverd... i dindt hear/say a thing and(T_T cry) i tried evry thing
and the F.A.Q didnt helpt me eighter


i hope you can help me out,

Thanks in advance

Bellop
Bellop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 09:25 AM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Did you get a warning message about the server being configured for GSM and incoming and outgoing voice comms would not function?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 09:25 AM   #3
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Server must use the Speex codec. I am sure you got an error message when you logged in that the server was configured with GSM codec. There is nothing you personally can do except to urge your vent admin to switch codecs. There has been much discussion on this board about this issue.

Be prepared for quite a battle to get the stubborn and dimwitted PC-using admin to change (I speak from experience, not to cast aspersion)... but once they do change, everybody will be happy and you will be able to hear and talk.

*edit*
Wade's the man. Listen and learn

Last edited by Calibos; 09-25-2006 at 09:28 AM.
Calibos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 10:42 PM   #4
dbconfesion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Can someone tel me what my server admin has to do to install SPEEX? they are willing btu they would like me to walk them through it. Thanks.
dbconfesion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 11:47 PM   #5
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

He just needs to change it in the hosting company's control panel and restart. Or open a ticket with the support department if they don't have a control panel.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 04:32 PM   #6
wolfharper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Default

ah, but all the PC users also will have to "upgrade" to the latest beta... so the guildmaster might want to notify PC users in advance that they'll need to do that, so they don't find out "the hard way" on raid night, ouch...

Since Mac has a paltry 8% market share or something, figure a whole lot of PC users will need to upgrade...

I love the Mac, so I'd make everyone upgrade if I were a guild master. But I'm not.
wolfharper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 05:01 PM   #7
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
ah, but all the PC users also will have to "upgrade" to the latest beta.
Correct.

However, they "upgrade" all the time without a second thought. While it will take some communication, it's certainly not an insurmountable barrier. There's absolutely no difference between running the beta client and the 2.3.0 client (except it fixes a Speex bug).
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 07:30 PM   #8
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

easiest to inform everyone that connects is to use the MOTD
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.