Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default Lose All Sound on Comp (XP)

Windows XP Prof SP3
Realtek HD Audio / Intel motherboard

A few mins after I connect to Ventrilo all sound on my computer stops. I can not hear anything, not click sounds, game sounds, music, nada. Nothing shows to be disabled. Ironically if in Vent in a channel people can still hear me talking.. so the mic works, but sound coming in does not. Closing vent does not remedy this, only rebooting the computer.

I updated the drivers for the Realtek HD Audio and get the same issue.

Anyone heard of this?

Thanks!
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 07:22 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

can you check for this plz:

Is your system sound configured for 5.1 or 7.1?
(XP - windows control-panel / sounds / click the ‘Advanced’ button in the ‘Speaker Settings’ section / speaker setup input box setting)
(Vista/Win7 – windows control-panel / sounds / Playback / select speaker device / ‘Configure’ button / Audio Channels)

If yes then:
Goto Vent setup/voice-binds-speech tabs / SFX button / Directional / Add “Front Left & Right 5.1 (or 7.1)”

you might want to try re-installing DirectX - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

or this:

start / run
dxdiag
select sound tab
try lowering 'hardware accelleration' 1 notch
reboot and test
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 07:33 PM   #3
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I had seen your info about the 5.1/7.1 in other posts and checked that before. Mine is set to "desktop stereo speaker", whatever that does =p

Trying to lower hardware accel and rebooting now.
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 08:44 PM   #4
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Tried lowering Hardward Accel, same issue occurred.

Reinstalled DirectX, same issue.

=/
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 08:59 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

are there any error messages in the vent log file?

rt-clik in window/view/log file/scroll to bottom
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:26 AM   #6
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

The only entries in this log are from last saturday, the day I got this computer and loaded ventrilo.

2009-09-12 20:11:08 Unable to open system registry key to read data.
2009-09-12 20:54:18 CEvtText::Read, Unable to open file C:\Documents and Settings\name\Application Data\Ventrilo\default.vet
2009-09-12 20:54:18 Creating the default VET file 'C:\Documents and Settings\name\Application Data\Ventrilo\default.vet'

Just now when getting on to see if an error happened. The sound stopped in about 45 seconds from when I started Vent. Sometimes its as long as 10-15 mins. I dont see a pattern as I didnt even talk on the mic this time OR join a channel where anyone else was talking =/
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 09:37 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

are there any error messages in event viewer?

start > run
eventvwr
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 05:43 PM   #8
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Didnt notice anything in the eventvwr pertaining to ventrilo. To check the time stamps I duplicated the problem twice and nothing is in the eventvwr about it. No errors, just info about when I restarted the computer each time.

I then removed vent and got ahold of 3.0.4 instead which is what most of the poeple I talk to on vent use. Same issue happened a few mins after I loaded it up =/
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:31 PM   #9
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,456
Default

did you download the realtek driver for your mobo from the Intel website?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:41 PM   #10
Holgster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I started with driver 5911 dated 8/5/09 that came installed and is on the disk with the intel mobo drivers that came with my comp. After having the issue last week I updated the drivers to 5928 dated 8/31/09. Tonight I deleted the drivers and put in the disk and reinstalled those. Same problem as before.
Holgster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.