Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2006, 06:00 PM   #1
vongrutz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default need help with pc users

I have new ventrilo beta and my clan is using PCs for the server and using the gsm6.10 for thier vent server. I know macs only use Speex... How can I find a way to talk on the PC server? does the server need to change to a speex so macs and pcs can talk on same server? or am I an outcast... Is it an easy fix for my pc friends?

Im lost... I tried anyhelp would be nice, thank you.

Last edited by vongrutz; 05-09-2006 at 06:03 PM.
vongrutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 08:22 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

yes the server needs to be set to speex
and all windows clients must be running the latest windows client beta
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 07:59 AM   #3
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Yeah, but it's hard as heck to talk those thick-headed PC folk into making the switch to Speex.

One guy told me "I tried it once and we had a lot of sound issues. It was terrible! So I switched it back."

I asked him which version of the client he used. It was 2.3.0 naturally. I told him about using the 2.3.2.beta.3 client to resolve the speex issues. He gave me a half-hearted and skeptical "I'll check into it." But he just never seems to get around to it... And he never will.

One thing that makes people resist using the beta is the 'warning' that precedes it on the download page: "Do not use this client unless you have a specific need to do so," or something like that. Makes it sound like potential trouble.

How bout taking that off and saying something like "Use this client if you want to talk to your mac buddies" ??? Sure would make things easier on us.
Calibos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:31 PM   #4
Zolneirz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Of course

It does, infact, sound terrible.
Zolneirz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:45 PM   #5
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

the Speex format setting plays a large role in the quality of the Speex sound. I would only go with a Quality of 8 or higher.

as far as the beta, it states "The following downloads are BETA versions of software and should only be used if you have a specific reason." you would have a specific reason to use it, connecting to a Speex server. The developer recommends it for Speex use.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:08 PM   #6
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zolneirz
It does, infact, sound terrible.
Then you're doing something wrong, or not ALL of your Windows users are using the latest beta client.

I've used Speex on three different Vent servers and it sounds better than GSM.
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.