Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2006, 05:00 AM   #1
thomasj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default Mic question

Hi there, finally got the guild to change to Speex and I'm loving being able to use vent without having to load up VPC on my old iBook.

I have a question about Mics though. I've read that you need a powered source, but how does the in-built microphone on laptops go? I'm using a new intel MacBook pro, and it has a built in iSight so i'm assuming the Mic would be of a decent quality.

Is it better to just buy a USB headset type deal, or would the built-in stuff suffice?

Thanks again for the OS X version of Ventril
thomasj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 09:58 AM   #2
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,047
Default

The built-in Mic on my MacBook Pro seems to work OK. But I really have not done much testing with it just to say: Yes, it works.

Check back later today for Prototype.9
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 10:50 AM   #3
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

A headset would be a better choice though. You'll get less noise from the speakers, which can cause echo.

I recommend a Griffin iMic, and then using whatever PC headset suits you best.

Wade
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 10:58 AM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,047
Default

Good point. Didn't think about feedback. Duh!
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 07:31 PM   #5
Bugsy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default mic output ok, no input when in background

hi, thx for creating a mac client, one question:

i can hear everyone fine, but my mic won't let me talk w/ Vent in the background. Will the "Enable access" function in Univ. Access fix that or is there something i'm overlooking.

cheers,

Bugsy
Bugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 02:34 AM   #6
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Yes.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 03:06 PM   #7
gramathy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Default

The second-gen aluminum PowerBooks (when 1.5GHZ was fastest) and i think the third-gen, but i dont' know because i haven't tested it on them, have the built-in microphone in teh base, so you get a lot of fan vibration carrying over. Sounds like a wind tunnel if you're doing something intense like a game.

Headset allows you to isolate vent sound a lot better, and sounds a TON cleaner. Highly suggested: Logitech 350. Freakin' Sweet.
gramathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.