Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2007, 10:00 PM   #11
Steven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

so do i reinstall my comp?
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 10:09 PM   #12
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Well, if Installer is missing, there's a good chance that a lot else is missing too.

I hate advising someone to reinstall since I can't actually look at your computer and make a judgement, but based on the available evidence, it certainly sounds like a reinstall is in order.

As always, make a complete backup of your system before performing a reinstall.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 10:33 AM   #13
aves2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post
Do you have the Installer application in /Applications/Utilities?

If not, chances are that you have somehow corrupted your OS install.
I also didnt have the installer app in /applications/utilities but the above command worked.
aves2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 01:17 PM   #14
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

While that command will work, it doesn't fix the root problem. Installer should be there and if it's not, other things are probably missing. I would still recommend a reinstall when convenient.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:55 PM   #15
Dealt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Im having the exact same problem and im not very good with macs...could someone plz explain how to get this to work so i can understand.
Dealt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:37 PM   #16
The Good Ed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I too am having problems installing under OS 10.5.1. The install package downloads just fine and the installer launches automatically. Still, once the installer attempts to write Ventrilo's files to my applications folder, the process stops and I'm given an "Install Failed" prompt. I started another thread with more specifics a few days ago, but this has not yet been posted to the forum...

If anyone else has encountered similar problems at install, I'd love to hear how you solved the problem
The Good Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 05:53 PM   #17
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

What does the installer log say when you choose "Show Installer Log" from the Window menu when trying to install?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.