Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2007, 10:21 PM   #11
deanguyer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default

[IMG]file:///Users/deanguyer/Desktop/Picture%201.png[/IMG]

[IMG]file:///Users/deanguyer/Desktop/Picture%202.png[/IMG]


hope this works
deanguyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:22 PM   #12
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

You need to upload the images to a temporary image hosting site like photobucket.com.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

or if they are small enough, attach them to your post.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:31 PM   #14
deanguyer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default



deanguyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:33 PM   #15
deanguyer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default

huh, they came up as links
deanguyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:46 PM   #16
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Yep - that's a GSM server.

Have the server admin reconfigure it for the Speex codec.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 10:15 PM   #17
mrcoffee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default GSM vs Speex

Okay, this is more than a little frustrating. Whenever someone asks about this issue, the standard response is "Just have the admin change to the Speex codec".
It isn't as easy as that. I just got into a new, very large guild in WoW. I am possibly the only Mac user in the guild. There is no way in the world they are going to reconfigure their vent server just for me. So, what, I'm just SOL? I got kicked out of a raid the other night because I was the only one who couldn't listen on vent and I wiped the whole raid twice because of it.
Can someone give some more useful answers than just have the administrators change the codec. It may mess up the sound for anyone else in the guild who doesn't have the latest version, so why in the world would they change it just for me? This is insane.
mrcoffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 11:00 PM   #18
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

There is no current support for GSM in the Mac version. So yes, if they refuse to change, you are out of luck until the next major version is released. We do not know when that will be.

Quote:
It may mess up the sound for anyone else in the guild who doesn't have the latest version, so why in the world would they change it just for me?
Um, so that anyone can participate in their guild? They should all be running the latest beta anyhow. Frankly, if they don't care enough about you to change, then they simply don't care whether you're there or not and I'd be looking for another guild.

I realize convincing a large guild to switch is not an easy process, but since you have no other solution right now, you might as well expend your energy there. (Of course there are other solutions - if you have an Intel Mac you can run in bootcamp mode or buy parallels / vmware and Windows)

Quote:
There is no way in the world they are going to reconfigure their vent server just for me.
Sounds like you haven't even approached them. Figure out who the reasonable officers are and talk it out with them.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 03:18 PM   #19
mrcoffee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default GSM vs Speex

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post
There is no current support for GSM in the Mac version. So yes, if they refuse to change, you are out of luck until the next major version is released. We do not know when that will be.



Um, so that anyone can participate in their guild? They should all be running the latest beta anyhow. Frankly, if they don't care enough about you to change, then they simply don't care whether you're there or not and I'd be looking for another guild.

I realize convincing a large guild to switch is not an easy process, but since you have no other solution right now, you might as well expend your energy there. (Of course there are other solutions - if you have an Intel Mac you can run in bootcamp mode or buy parallels / vmware and Windows)



Sounds like you haven't even approached them. Figure out who the reasonable officers are and talk it out with them.
Perhaps you missed a few key points. This is a fairly large guild, and I am a new member. My old guild was just absorbed into this larger one. I can try asking them to change their server settings, but imagine if you were in their position. Why would you change that and perhaps cause problems for everyone else for just one person? Sure they should all be using the latest version of Vent, but out of 100+ active guild members, do you really think everyone is likely to be up to date?
mrcoffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 09:00 PM   #20
Kanlous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I agree with mrcoffee

I also am in a fairly large guild

I asked the server adimin about changing the codec from the current GSM 6.10 to Speex for me and he replied that there were several people in the guide that couldn't use Speex
Kanlous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.