Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2007, 02:30 AM   #11
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

ok ok im sure you know more about macs then me no doubt bro, but your going to have to tell me what the heck a pc-analog mic exactly is so i can make sure if mine is that or if it isnt that type, if i end up needing to buy a new mic thing for mac then also i need to see how those look like and where i can buy em from. i got my headset from radioshack but i never knew their was a difference for a mac kind or a pc kind lol
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 03:14 AM   #12
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

A PC analog mic is just your standard PC headset that you'd buy off the shelf anywhere. There's a 99.9% chance that the mic you bough is a standard analog mic.

You don't have to get rid of the headset, you just have to get a USB converter, like the one I linked.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 12:38 AM   #13
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

ok, and if i buy that converter you said, then where to the 2 headset wires go into, the out and in on he coverter correct? and the converted is attached to the computer....
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 01:53 AM   #14
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Yes, the converter has input and output jacks for the mic and headphone wires, respectively.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 05:49 AM   #15
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

and how do i exactly know which wire goes into which one in or out, and where can i buy the converter from, radioshack ?
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 12:33 PM   #16
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Input would be the mic, and output would be the headphones.

If you have a CompUSA near your house, they usually have the Griffin products in their Mac area. If you have an Apple store in your area, they might have it too.

Or of course, you can order off the web.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:34 PM   #17
Tarro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Correct me if i'm wrong wade, but can't you connect an analogue mic through a line in port on a mac by either pre-amping it or using certain third party soundcards?

I don't have an analogue mic, but i do use my pickup mic on my acoustic guitar, which is pre-amped, in the line in. I'm fairly certain its the same concept (if i turn off the pre-amp the guitar doesn't output into the mac, but will into a normal amp)
Tarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 03:07 AM   #18
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Sure, you can use a pre-amped mic or a sound card. However, that's generally a more expensive and difficult to find solution.

For 99% of users who aren't musicians, the Griffin iMic is the right solution.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.